Jiutepec, Morelos, Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Jiutepec
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

(August 24th 2005) I had worked in the state of Morelos a year earlier--two years ago now--and I simply fell in love with the country. I met wonderful families, as well as friends for a life time. This was my two weeks to see them once again, and they turned out to be great. I flew out of Atlanta, and arrived in DF early afternoon. I took the bus down to Cuernavaca from the airport. This service is great. Get a free drink, a snack, and a movie--but the views that the ride provides are too beautiful to miss. Mountains and lush green vegetation. One of my best friends, Lucia (Lucha) was to pick me up, since Adrian (Pollo), another one of my best friends, was working--I was staying with him. Luckily Fernando (Kozme), a great friend as well, came along, and it was a great greeting. It was like the year never passed, and we chatted all the way about everything. Within twenty minutes, we already had made plans for the next day, go play tennis, for the weekend to go to Puebla, and the following week to go to Oaxaca. We went to meet Pollo, it was great to see him once again. We left him at work and told him we would see him later that night at his house.
Our base of operations when I worked in Mexico was Cuernavaca, and I will talk about the city of eternal spring in a later blog--from my earlier experiences and the time I was there this time. But my friends live in Jiutepec, a 15 min ride, so the first night visiting was there. We dropped Kosme off at practice for his band, ACEITUNA, somewhat famous, they have toured in the US and Central America. Lucha and I went to Cafe Du Soleil in downtown Cuernavaca, about three blocks from the zocalo. Had some beers, and told her about the last three weeks that I had just spent in Europe. We left, and met everyone else at Pollo's house--he was off work, his girlfriend, great freind as well, Bere, was there, Kosme, El Conde, whom it was my first time meeting, good guy, and Pollo's brother.
Said hello to Pollo's parents, and went to his apartment. It was great to see everyone again. We drank, ate, and caught up in the things that had happened in the past year. I brought a bottle of Aguardiente Antioqueno, the best, everyone loved it and it went fast. Mounds of bottles of Victoria. And their new favorite drink, a rum from Guatemala, Flor de Cana. That night we had too much fun, and unluckily for Pollo, the next morning was not good--showed up three hours late for work. The tennis match never played out.
The next morning we went to a taco stand, ohh did I miss them--and do now--and hung out at the university where Pollo works. Ate at Bere's house, met her family, and met with Lucha in the afternoon for one of their meetings in the work they get grants for. Like me, all anthropologists, and get grants by the government to work in Morelos. Us four went back to De Soleil, played Scrabble, in Spanish of course, and I win, they get mad, not really, because a Colombian just beat them, hah. We like to mess around how some of our words and syntax differ. The next day off to Puebla.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



1st August 2006

mmm...
El "salvaje" no nos ganĂ³ en el scrabble, lo que pasa es que lo queremos tanto que lo dejamos ganar!!!
1st August 2006

jajajaja
no mames wey, como eres de mentirosa!
27th December 2008

It was cool to read your blog, I was surprised when i saw my neighbors and friends... thanks to juan for your comments about my city and im glad you had fun. good luck!!!
10th April 2010

la gorda
yo soy de la colonia la rosa nada mas que ya tengo mucho tiempo en los estados unidos y no se que tanto ha cambiado ayasi pueden mandarme fotos se los agradeseria mucho bueno hasta la vista bebes

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb