School Days


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I survived a WET Monday back at school!! It started raining last night while I was walking home and was still raining when I woke up this morning. Now it's 2:30pm and it just stopped raining!! Made for an interesting walk to school this morning.... There were about 10 of us Americans all walking along the busy Avenida Morelos squealing and throwing our bodies against the wall to protect our clothes from the gallons of water being splashed at us from the bus drivers who get enjoyment from our pain. But at least we were all drowning in our misery together!!

If I havenĀ“t explained it before, every week I will have a new teacher and a new class set-up, so it's kind of exciting to check the master list on Mondays to see where I've been placed. This morning it showed I was to be alone again, which I was thrilled about, but it ended up that a girl was put in my class (for a review) because the administration felt that I was "a fast learner" and basically wouldn't drag her down much. I was slightly annoyed at first to have to share my teacher, but then realized that it could be a great thing.....which is what it turned out to be. It's actually better for me, at this point in my experience, to have to "keep up" with someone else. I guess I feel I'm being held a little more accountable this week than last.

As enjoyable as the weekends are, with all the excursions we take and things we experience, I find the school days to be equally enjoyable. It just felt really good this morning to really have to use my brain more and it's fun realizing that I'm now able to actually apply many of the things I learned last week when speaking. I'm paired up with Paula (the older woman who's preparing to do mission work in Colombia) for conversation and we both feel it's a great match. We're essentially at the same level, but since we struggle with different things, we're kinda able to help bring the other one up.

I REALLY enjoy the conference classes...they're lectures on various topics. I've found all of them very interesting, but today's was especially relevant because it was about Mexican customs, especially concerning the family. I was able to see that much of what I've observed through various mission trips is true throughout all of Mexico. And it also helps me understand my host family a lot better!

I have two main goals for this week..... 1) Participate in various activities that are offered here at the school. I figure now that I'm kinda settled in school-wise, I need to really take advantage of all the opportunities I have to enhance my educational experience. For examples, on Mondays we have the opportunity to view a cultural film, or we can volunteer at an orphanage here in town. Today I'm going to see the movie because it's about Frida Kahlo...and I'm pretty sure I'm going to be visiting her house this coming weekend in Mexico City. 2) Spend more time studying...even if I don't have "homework." I'm just realizing that I need to put in more time outside of class so that I can achieve all that I desire to before I hit the border. Because although I'm improving in various areas, I need to keep working!

Okay, time to head home for comida!!!!



Advertisement



25th July 2006

You aare remarkable
Dear Elizabeth, I am now realizing how much I have missed in not getting to know you better. You are unbelievable in all you do and your voracious desire in soaking up everything you can in Mexico is exciting - and having so much fun doing it. Your blogs are wonderful. Thank you. We look forward to each one of them. Thank you. With love, Lora
25th July 2006

I found your blog!
Beth, I'm so excited to read about your adventures and your pictures are beautiful!
26th July 2006

Elizabeth, that friend yours, Anne was it? well, she sounds really great!
26th July 2006

this "anonymous" person sounds suspiciously like anne.....
26th July 2006

The next step
I can't wait until we receive an update from you with at least a part of it written in Spanish. I will know you have truely started learning when you can write to us as you are speking to your classmates and friends. I am alway in prayer for you. Eric

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb