Elaborating....


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 20th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This entry's kinda random...mainly to answer some questions in messages I've received.

First, the rrrrr thing. Timmy, here's the trick (or so I'm told)..... Stick a pencil or pen under your tongue and practice saying words with "rr's" in them. It will force your tongue to touch the top of your mouth....not so much the back of your teeth. My major problem is that I'm forming all my words by putting my tongue to the teeth. Not good! So all you have to do is suck up your pride, put a pencil and your tongue, and start saying a ton of words with rr. It's a humbling experience, to say the least, especially when it's done at the dinner table with about 5 other people watching.... :-)

Next, my frustration has subsided. I am still LOVING classes and I've been told the accent is getting better...poco a poco (little by little). I feel like I'm a child and learning to talk for the first time. Now I speak very slowly and cautiously when forming my words/sentences.

The days seem to be flying by! I know it's only been a week, but yet, it's BEEN A WEEK! I'm so happy I have 4 more weeks because I'm already getting sad that eventually I will have to leave this beautiful school and city. But, I'm also very excited to get to the border and put to use my newly acquired speaking skills. Maybe I'll sound more than 5 years old by then!!!

Tomorrow after class I'm going to watch my friend Carlos play soccer. I'm really excited about that! Then a big group of us are going to a large club that's supposed to be the best in Cuernavaca. To prepare for this, I might actually join the free dance class this afternoon here at school. Saturday I'll be heading to a beautiful outdoor area with a natural water source (I'll be able to explain it all better later) called Las Estacas. Then to finish off the wonderful weekend, Sunday we'll be heading back to Mexico City to see the famous Anthropology Museum and El ballet folklórico. Oooh, lots of fun new things!!

Again, I hope you're all surviving the heat. Thanks for all the messages and comments...I really enjoy reading them!

Love, Elizabeth



Advertisement



20th July 2006

Museum
ET. Maureen and I will be coming to MC in mid Aug to see the museum too.. Your enthusiasum is invigorating! I continue to pray for your experience to be a blessing. Eric
20th July 2006

It is fun reading about your experiences
I am enjoying you blog so much . Keep the information coming. Janice
28th July 2006

okay, so I have no pride anyways
thanks for the tip elizabeth. I'm gonna start trying this right away. the kids in KC already give me enough crap for words like "corre" that I'm willing to give anythign a shot.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb