Day 3


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
June 28th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 3

So I have arrived in Cuernavaca. And here is what I have discovered so far:

There are no driving rules what-so-ever
When cops pull people over it is to ¨search¨ for whatever they can find until the person bribes them to stop
I witnessed this my second night here....4 cop cars were spread out over a large bridge randomly pulling people over
People are extremely hospitable
Food times are breakfast (still learning the Spanish name for that one) is at about 7am. Most interesting food has been a deli meat sort of sandwhich, apple, and banana blended in a cup of milk
Lunch or Comida is at about 2:30pm which lasts for one and a half hours during which the entire town closes shop
And last of all is a light supper called Cena which is eaten at about 8pm
People think I ate all the time before...man, all I seem to do here all day is eat! But I am also walking like a bizillon miles a day, so guess it all evens out ;-)
I LOVE getting to walk everywhere (and it is somewhat safer than taking a cab)
People are super creative with painting their casas bright colors and planting flowers everywhere
I stay with an upper middle-class family which is probably like an upper lower class in the US
I realized just how little Spanish I know when I got here and was given an ¨exam¨at the language school for class placement. Yeah I turned in in just how I received it--blank
But I was told not to feel bad because there are three other students starting on monday too who are in the beginners class for those who know ¨zero¨
My biggest struggle outside the language barrier has been the little children persistantly trying to sell me jewelry everytime I go down town. If I make eye contact or remotely admire something then they make a b-line for me. The kids are out unil the wee hours of the night selling crafts and flowers for their families.
Well, I gotta run...I will try to upload some pics soon
Love you all!

Advertisement



29th June 2008

Lindsay girl, Miss you so much :) Sounds like you are enjoying your time to the fullest. Just want you to know I'm thinking of you and praying for you girl...and I will be following your exciting trip every blog of the way :) Love you :)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb