Birthday Weekend


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
May 19th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MariachiMariachiMariachi

pretty much sums up my 21st in mexico!
Buenos Dias! It's a cloudy Monday morning of the second week of school! I'm sitting in my arte class (probably should be paying more attention haha). This weekend was incredible. On Friday night, 9 of us went to this great Italian Restaurant and then after a bunch of us girls went to this American bar (go figure haha) & when I got there, I told the waiter it was my birthday and he continued to take me by the hand and drag me behind the bar and the bartender pretty much shoved a tequila shot down my throat! After that, us girls just danced and met some other American's there and let's just say that waiters were rather entertaining. After we left the gringo bar, we went to this other bar/club to meet up with a few of our guy friends and on the way there, we passed under a bridge and we saw some mariachi's- and i was feeling pretty good at this point- so i greeted them and ended up singing and dancing with them for a bit haha. We finally made it to the other club and that consisted of lots of dancing- it was a fun night.
Las EstacasLas EstacasLas Estacas

the beautiful, clear river!
Saturday (my actual birthday) we went to Las Estacas- a river about an hour away from Cuernavaca. Seriously, the river is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. The water was so clear and blue that I could see the rocks and my feet. We all went cliff jumping off this ledge and then swam down the river- twice! As well, there were boats, swings and ropes to swing into the water- very fun! It was a perfect, relaxing day. Saturday night however was kind of hectic. At 9ish- about 20 of us met @ the bar/restaurant, Los Arcos in el centro and there were too many of us to be there, so we decided to go to another place (which took forever to decide where to go) - but then we ended up at the same bar/club we went to the night before. I had a few drinks there, and then about 8 of us went to this really cool, chic bar that we passed by the night before. It was so much fun there- the DJ was playing lots of old school American music like: Spice Girls, YMCA and Jump Around haha. It was a pretty
Incredible River WaterIncredible River WaterIncredible River Water

you can see the rocks!
early night- I think because I had too much fun the night before. Yesterday was very relaxing. Cary (roomie) and I, got up pretty early and headed to el centro. We decided to take the bus-which ended up being kind of a little mis-adventure. We passed by part of el centro and we thought it would take us to the center square (which it never did) and we ended up in the ghetto. We actually got kicked off the bus and had to get on to another one. Luckily, we finally ended up in el centro and it took us about 45minutes to find an ATM, got some phone cards, had some lunch, went to an Internet cafe for about 2 hours, met up with the group @ 4 @ Jardin Borda (pretty house/garden of this Borda guy), after some of us girls walked around and got some food and then Cary & I went home. We ate dinner with the family and then I ended up talking to my host mama about Frida Kahlo, showed her pictures and played her music. Next thing I knew, it was 10 and I still had to my homework- so I got about
Posing with StatuePosing with StatuePosing with Statue

Hanging out @ the Jardin Borda!
6 hours of sleep. Today my stomach feels funny- I think it's because of something I ate yesterday. Today is gonna be a pretty chill day- class until 2, going home for lunch and then I think Cary & I are coming back to school to use the Internet and do homework. There are a few other excursions this week and next weekend we're going to Mexico City- to see Frida Kahlo's house (SO excited), the baile folklorico and the anthropology museum!
Anyway, I should probably take some notes!
nos vemos!
<3 molly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb