Cuernavaca - Summer 2003


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
August 13th 2003
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The summer between my 4th and 5th year at UW-Eau Claire I lived in Cuernavaca, Mexico for 2 months. Cuernavaca was a very fun place to take a summer of classes and learn some Spanish. I will say that in comparision with my program in Valladolid, you need to make sure that you push yourself to learn the language in Cuernavaca. It would have been very easy for me to not speak Spanish at all. If I was at home, around town, or with students it seemed that learning Spanish was not the primary goal. However, if you are going to Cuernavaca to emerse yourself in Spanish you need to understand that you are incharge of your own learning and that you are incontrol of how much Spanish that you use / learn.

Cuernavaca is a fun town. I have included some pics from around the school and around town. I lived within a 5 minute walk of the TEC campus. My host family was great. I lived in a nice 2 story house that had a nice back yard and a large living and dining area. Every morning that I woke up in Cuernavaca I reminded myself that I was wakeing up in paradise. When you combine the beautiful view city with the fact that the weather was always great (85 for a high and 65 for a low - this does not change all year by the way) and that my hoast mom always had an excellent fresh fruit breakfast prepared every morning . . . you can see why I would think that!

We lived about 20 minutes from downtown and the only thing that you could really do around were I lived was hang out on campus, go for a walk, and hang out at home. Luckily there was a "ruta" stop about 100 yards from my house. The "ruta" was what people called the bus system and we used it on almost a daily basis to go downtown and hang out. There were many bars and cafe's in downtown Cuernavaca that we visited including a street that was not off the main drag where you could spend an entire night going from bar to bar and enjoy 2 for 1 drink specials, listen to excellent live music and eat nice appetizers (highly reccomended by me!) Also, using a taxi we also went to a
Looking back at CuernavacaLooking back at CuernavacaLooking back at Cuernavaca

Steph and I took many walks to this point of Cuernavaca and you could see the entire city from here!
movie theatre once and also went to the dance club "el zumbale" every Thursday . . . fun place and no cover on Thursdays! Overall I felt pretty safe in Cuernavaca so long as you take obvious precautions and also remember this - don't get in close the door of a taxi unless you see that they have a radio and you have negociated a price. Email me if you want to know why!

I still am a huge advocate of living with a host family. I think that of all of the things that I did in Cuernavaca, one of the most valuable parts was living with a host family. The things that I learned talking with my host mom every day durring our meals and playing soccer and swords with my little host brother and sister meant just as much as any place that I visited or anything that I studied.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

La Clase de CocinarLa Clase de Cocinar
La Clase de Cocinar

I participated in a cooking class as an extra curricular.
Lucha LibreLucha Libre
Lucha Libre

This was a few hours of cheap entertainment that was very funny . . . this can be found in downtown Cuernavaca.
Mi Casa - the back yardMi Casa - the back yard
Mi Casa - the back yard

This is where I would kick some butt playing soccer against middle schoolers! Man I am good!
Mi Casa - la familiaMi Casa - la familia
Mi Casa - la familia

This is me and my host brother Jorge and my host sister Kenya after I just got done schooling them.
Las MananitasLas Mananitas
Las Mananitas

This restaurant is rated one of the top 25 restaurants in the world. I will say this . . . I got an awesome fillet mignon for like 20 bucks, a steal for a nice restaurant.
El MercadoEl Mercado
El Mercado

If shopping for great deals is your thing (for me it is not) I would recommend visiting Cuernavaca's downtown market. From pottery to clothing to jewlery and authentic crafts this place has it all and is very cheap! Located every day next to the Zocalo . . . can't miss it!
El ZocaloEl Zocalo
El Zocalo

Many major mexican cities have a large square called a zocalo. Here you can see the hustle and bustle of Cuernavaca's zocalo.
Mi Casa #3Mi Casa #3
Mi Casa #3

This is the upstairs of my place and where our rooms were.
Paseo de la ReformaPaseo de la Reforma
Paseo de la Reforma

Not going to go for a run on these uneven sidewalks!


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb