Starting off on the right foot...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
May 26th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings all,

This is the first of hopefully many to come. I like to start my adventures with lack of sleep, complete unpreparedness, and sheer panic. I arrived in Puerto Vallarta at 2:45 this afternoon with high hopes. As promised the woman who owns the apartment I am going to rent picked me up at the airport. I'm not much for small talk, especially after being introduced to humid, 90 degree heat in the jeans I thought would be such a great idea to wear on the plane but she was very kind. She showed me where I would be living for the next 2.5 months starting on Sunday. It is a very cute bottom floor apartment in an old Mexican neighborhood within easy walking distance of the Malecon and most importantly, the beach. In the meantime I am staying in a one bedroom apartment in the Romantic Zone of PV owned by a hilarious American woman that I realized from now on I will be avoiding like the plague. I got in safely and went upstairs to see Mollie. During which time she grilled me about my plans, where I was staying for the rest of the time, what I was going to do about my cell phone, what kind of dog I have, etc. She made me call my parents so I could tell them I was ok, but made so many comments during the conversation that I couldn't even talk. That woman is the posterchild for the truth commercials. In the short amount of time I talked to her she smoked at least 5 cigs. But I won't be mean 😊

I figured my phone and internet situations out. I'm really really glad I brought my laptop. Anyways, I was about to follow Mollie's instructions to go to the grocery store down the street and buy some lettuce because she's putting me on a diet when I realized someone had "borrowed" money from me somewhere between here and San Francisco. Funny how that happens. They took about 250 but were kind enough to leave me 70 in case I needed to, you know, survive.

But not all was bad. I'm here, it's hot, and I've got some sweet digs. Plus there's the volunteering that I'm eager to start soon. I'm just going to have to learn to be more outgoing so I can make some friends here. I refuse to spend my days here cooped up watching Mollie die of lung cancer.



Advertisement



28th May 2008

wowee
Its a mystery where that money went!
29th May 2008

Just think......
you know that money probably went to support a drug habit, which went to help them work harder in a factory where they get paid 17 cents a day, which put slave labor goods into our stores, which put profits into the pockets of the rich, who put money into our idiot Wal-Mart loving presidents pocket, so techinically you supported the little Bush, you should be ashamed!!! I LOVE YOU!!! Be careful. <3

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb