3 years visiting Jalisco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
October 31st 2010
Published: October 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I teach English both privately and at a Canadian school during my prolonged visits to Jalisco State in Western-central, Mexico while alternately traveling back and forth from the Pacific Northwest in the US. I am honored to share highlight-photos from my little old Canon elph point-and-shoot. My photos are a creative release for me and I have treasured my various sets of world-travel photos. These photos include but are not limited to Jalisco, Michoacan, Oaxaca, Baja-California, and Colima states.

Despite the current spate of media hype to the contrary, I am much safer while visiting Mexico than I am in LA, San Diego, or Seattle. It's really just a matter of perspective. The news media in turn presents a sensationalize versions of the narco-violence for the purposes of controlling people by promoting a climate of fear and insecurity. Thus the English speaking broadcast news media, more specifically fear mongering Fox News, NPR, and CNN, pander to the lowest common denominator by filtering all news from Mexico through an Ameri-centric lens.

As a side note: Interestingly, US natives call themselves Americans, while the rest of the western hemisphere refers to itself collectively as "las Americas." Gringo schools teach that there a seven (7) continents, while the rest of the Americas teaches five (5)-America, Euro, Asia, Oceania, and Africa.

And of course, after reading this blog, if f you have any questions about attractions in Guadalajara, message me thru this website.


Additional photos below
Photos: 90, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb