Guadalajara intro


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

When I got to Guadalajara, I was greeted at the arrival gate by a horde of people, many of them young women, who screamed and whistled at me. I smiled and winked and received still more screams. (I could get used to this). Then the guy behind me showed me up because he was dressed like a Medieval English King. Damn... I asked a couple people about buses and was told they all went where I wanted to go. Then I bought postcards I could´ve easily stolen, and went outside to look for a bus. All the taxis here are mid'90´s Nissan Sentras. The bus cost 5 pesos (50 cents) and was reasonably comfortable for the price. Eventually (after like 45 minutes of driving through shatntytowns and the like it looked like we were getting close to Centro and I asked a woman where I should get out. She didn´t know so she asked the driver (how kind!) and I got out at the next stop. At this point (big intersection) there were two fire jugglers who would climb up on stepladders and do a show while whistling wildly (faces painted white with shades on) and another guy who wore only a loincloth and was all cut up and scraggly. He´d lay down a towel full of broken glass, then stand on it with bare feet and hold his arms out. I was like ¨wow¨ to say the least. I kept walking toward the Centro and it got crazier and crazier. The closest thing I´ve come to this was San Fran´s Chinatown. Only it´s the whole city! I saw markets, malls, all manner of street vendors, carazy drivers. I could go on. I´m getting a look from a girl that wants to use the computer so I´m gonna hit the road. I found my hostel. The ppl are nice. I met a couple fellow travelers and today we´re going to take public buses to the town of Tequila and tour tequila factories. I will try to get to an internet cafe where I´ll have time to upload pictures tonite.

!!! It´s awesome!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb