VIP Movie Viewing and Port Wandering . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Zihuatanejo
December 1st 2009
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I’m slowly starting to fall into the routine of this latest ship. Though it always takes time to feel completely settled and at ease. All of the sea days on our current itinerary are really draining, so when we finally get the break of a port day it’s tempting to just stay in bed all day! But I’ve been making myself get up and out.

Yesterday we were in Acapulco and a group of us headed to the movies for an afternoon matinee. But this was no ordinary movie theatre, this was a VIP theatre and it was spectacular! We had leather reclining seats (footrests and everything) to lie back in, or in my case, curl up in. Then there are servers who come around to your seats to take orders for snacks, drinks, food. I read the menu (after I’d already gone on my own to the popcorn stand) and saw that they even have sushi on the menu! Next time . . .

After the movie we browsed around the shops some. I really want to find a great new dress to wear for the holiday formal parties and I tried a couple on. But I didn’t really find what I’m looking for.

Then for dinner I treated myself to another meal at the fantastic health food restaurant I was introduced to last week. Oh it’s so good there! I’m very happy to know I get to eat there each week.

Today we were in Zihautanejo. Clair and I had originally planned to go to one of the beaches near the tender pier, but the weather wasn’t on our side. It was still nice and hot but really overcast, no sun at all. Clair ended up going to get her hair done in one of the salons we walked past. So while she got her hair done, I wandered around the shops. Then I walked along the waterfront. And then I laid down on the beach with my book and read awhile. Took lots of pictures. Zihautanejo in many ways is still developing, but there’s still lots to look at. And my favourite part of this port is the bay that we pull up in. There are mountains and hills on all sides. It’s so pretty.

Hopefully next cruise I’ll be able to venture out further . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



17th December 2009

Theatre sounds unreal! I WANNA GO!

Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 35; qc: 149; dbt: 0.1841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb