The Mask


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato
December 21st 2005
Published: January 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Coming SoonComing SoonComing Soon

This M%&@F*!#A is Baaaaaad!
We went to our second wrestling match the other night here in Guanajuanto. Now since my first experience was so cool and the fact that I was dying to wear my mask in public without ridicule, I was super eager to go see this match. Me, Suzanne, Three of my teachers from school, and one other student made the trip to the outskirts of town to check it out. (Now before I go on I must say that to me these wrestling masks are the best things since sliced bread. I probably put one on everyday and flex in the mirror or just run around the house and act wild. I think that this is probably the only place in the world where I can wear a mask 365 day a year and it seem normal. I must say that if I don’t leave here with but four things, I will have my computer, camera, ipod and masks… Alright now on with the story)

The previous match in Guadalajara was like the WWE of México, so this one was more like the American Legion and Lions Club present’s “ Lucha Libre.” The good thing was that venue was really small,
Técnicos take an LTécnicos take an LTécnicos take an L

local luchas get down for the love of the game
so there wasn’t bad seat in the whole place and the other was that the beer was cheap (even though I went pre-oiled). The bad were the quality of wrestlers. I think the first match was the local plumber versus the bus driver. Followed by the neighborhood butcher and his assistant in a tag team match against the Gasman and the Churro guy. For the most part these guys hadn’t seen the inside of a gym since DP was supplying the world with concrete weights and also by their look they had at least a cholesterol count of 260 or greater. There timing was off as hell and they huffing and puffing like any 45 year old, out of shape man would. The biggest thing about these guys was their hearts. For what they lacked in style and physical prowess, they more that made up for in entertainment and love for the game. They gave it 120% and the crowd (all 75 of us) gave them ample applause and cheer.

Now it was not all bad, because each match got progressively better and each match was best 2 out of 3. They even had a halfway decent ring girl
The CrewThe CrewThe Crew

me and my friends here in GTO enjoying the matches
for our viewing pleasure who did her best Jessica rabbit sashay around the ring between each round. The Costumes were cool and the crowd participation was all that. The ref was really animated, getting into it with the crowd, pinching the wrestlers, and just being a menace. The Final match was the highlight due to the fact these wrestlers were from GTO. Los Momias were dressed in masks similar to the natural mummies of México, and wore outfits complete with tattered boots, patched shirts and plenty of dust. They came out to Michael Jackson’s Thriller and immediately proceeded to drop kick the shit out of their opponents.

After it was all over the wrestlers came back out to pose for pictures with the kids and anyone that was a fan. For anyone that ever watched wrestling or who said their prayers and ate their vitamins like a good Hulk-a-maniac then this would have been a good time no matter what. I can’t lie I was so eager for someone to talk shit after the match so I could DDT they ass Jake the Snake style or maybe just catch a sucka slippin’ and straight Jimmy “Superfly” Snooka ‘em like I was back in fifth grade on the yard during recess, but that is why grown men still do go to these matches and why other grown men perform in them. Long live Lucha Libre and may god bless them and the lives of the people they touch. Viva La Lucha!!!


Advertisement



3rd January 2006

The next wrestling sensation!
You are so wack! HAHAHA!!! That mask is out of control. Please get in the ring and send out some pics! That would be crazy!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb