Festival + Booze + Cool People = FUN


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
October 15th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MummyMummyMummy

This is the oldest mummy they have. He was a French doctor from the 19th century.
I hated to leave Guanajuato. I had such a great time here. I planned on staying here for about 4 days, but ended up extending it to 6 days....and I still had a hard time leaving. I've been here before when visiting family in Celaya, but I never stayed for more than a day. To begin, when I arrived at my hostel I immediately met some language students. They were from Australia, Germany, and Holland. The owner of the hostel also has a language school, so the hostel is also used to accommodate foreign students. First there was Samara, an Indian-born Australian. She looks Indian, but has an Australian accent. She was extremely friendly and pretty funny as well. Then there was Julia and Jenni, two German friends who are traveling together. Jenni was crazy fun and Julia thought I was stupid because she didn't agree with me that English is the universal language. Yeah, we got into an argument in a cab about it (uhm...in English). I was ready to take her down, but Naomi split it up. Julia was actually really cool too. Third was Lawrence from Holland, party animal (no need to say anything else). Finally there was Florian, another German who's been traveling south starting from Canada. He was a really cool dude. Mexican girls loved taking pictures with him. I guess cause he stood out like a sore dumb.

I got along with everyone. Everyone pretty much got along with everyone. Even when Naomi (girl from Holland who I met in Guadalajara) showed up in Guanajuato a couple of days later, she fit in with the group like a glove. We would all hang out and plan activities together. Some major partying took place. It was great! Guanajuato was having the Cervantino festival which is a dance, theater, and music festival. Artists from all over the world come into town for performances and people from everywhere come and invade Guanajuato to party. Because of the festival the town was full of going-ons (I think just made up a word). I never had a boring moment in this town. The partying was plentiful, but the town also had activities that didn't involve alcohol.

I visited the mummy museum. They are actually regular everyday dead people who are displayed in the museum. This is the thing, in Guanajuato if the families of a deceased person are
MummiesMummiesMummies

Kind of creepy.
no longer able to pay the annual burial plot fees, the bodies of the deceased are exhumed. Because of the climate in Guanajuato the bodies of the deceased are sometimes well preserved and self-mummified. If the bodies are in good condition, they are sent to the mummy museum, if they are not in good condition the bodies are cremated and given back to the families. Weird? Yes. Crazy? I think so. I've visited the museum before, but it was still interesting to see. Me and some of the new friends I met also visited Cristo Rey. It is a huge statue of Jesus Christ that's in the middle of nowhere. The trip up the mountain takes about 1 1/2 hour. It is said that the statue was erected in the exact center of Mexico. The place was inundated with all sorts of bugs that kept flying into your face and would get stuck in your hair. It was a little annoying, but the view from up there was beautiful and the statue was an impressive site to see.

Guanajuato is a beautiful city. It's built on hills, so in some places you have to walk up steep staircases and alleys to get around town. It became a popular and prosperous city due to its local mining. Although the mines do not yield as much as they used to, they are still worked on. There are tours available that take you into the mines. It is interesting to see.

I had a great time here. Now I'm headed off to Celaya to visit family.

miss and love,
alex




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Teatro JuarezTeatro Juarez
Teatro Juarez

Oldest theater in town.
El PipilaEl Pipila
El Pipila

Monument for a local revolutionary hero.
Callejon Del BesoCallejon Del Beso
Callejon Del Beso

Narrowest alley in Guanajuato. It is called Kiss Alley.
CervatinoCervatino
Cervatino

During Cervantino there were all sorts of performers. Here was a good breakdancer.
TunnelsTunnels
Tunnels

The city is full of underground tunnels.
Iglesia de ValencianaIglesia de Valenciana
Iglesia de Valenciana

What you see as gold IS actually gold. Wow.
Cristo ReyCristo Rey
Cristo Rey

Bug invasion at Cristo Rey.
Cristo ReyCristo Rey
Cristo Rey

View from Cristo Rey.
Cristo ReyCristo Rey
Cristo Rey

Da girls.
GuacamoleGuacamole
Guacamole

Me and Jenni. Made my now "world famous" guacamole.
Dinner TimeDinner Time
Dinner Time

Me and Jenni made dinner for everyone. I cooked cactus...a Mexican specialty. Everyone dug it.
PartyParty
Party

Florian and Samara.
MezcalMezcal
Mezcal

Mezcal tasting.
PartyParty
Party

Julia and Naomi.


21st October 2008

Santos? Blu Demon?
Did you see Blu Demon (say it spanish) or Santos??? remember seeing the movie? If you liked Mexican Wrestling you know what I'm referring to.... the movie!!!! N-E ways, cool pix as always, hope to hear from you soon....
6th October 2009

How did you manage
HOw did you manage to take pictures of igelisa de orto thye told me. I couldn't take pictures in the iglesia it would break my camera ..............

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb