Mexico City Summary


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal
December 30th 2014
Published: December 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

The 8 days I spent in MC really went fast and very enjoyably . It is an amazing city and very easy to get around in . It is noisy and crowded but it is possible to escape that . The hostel had terrasses on 2 floors that overlooked the Zocolo , the 5th off the communal kitchen and the 6th which was the bar and the breakfast area . When I decided to stay the extra 3 days they were very full and had only 2 privates left . One was VERY small with a shared bath for 350 Pesos and I couldn't deal with it . The other was the "suite" which was large , had a huge bed , table and 2 chairs and its own terrace...for 710 pesos!!! An amazing deal by our prices (66$). Oh , I like my hostels.

Anyway my last day I finally got to see the interior of the Catedral Metropolitana . The altars were stunning as they are in most Mexican churches but so was the choir loft , situated in the centre of the church and the pipe organs . There are some amazing paintings as well .,four by Miguel Carera (1760's artist) which are magnificent . It might not be as large as St Peter's in Rome but I beleive it is more impressive . The Mexican/Spanish builders knew how to combine Baroque , Neo-classical and the unique Churrigueresque styles with a bit of the Moorish and the Romantics . Amazing! and really big !

I then hopped on to the Turibus , an on/off 2decker bus that travels 9am-9pm everyday . Great deal . It has three circuits that pretty much cover the city .You do not NEED to get off as there is a commentary (I had earphones with English) that explains what you are seeing. Given Mexico traffic it moves pretty slow allowing lots of time for gawking and photos. It would take up a whole day quite easily to do all three circuits.

I chose to get off at the Museo National de Anthropolgia . Wow . The intro is the development of man ie. evolution and the migration of mankind from Asia to NorthAmerica . Well done . It then explores and displays the Mexican pre-hispanic civilizations . There are separate halls for each of the 8 different regions and there indiginous people and their cultures. It too is large ...over 90,000 square meters. It would be possible to spend days there but I only had a few hours.

Back on the bus I switched to the southern circuit to visit Tlalpan and Coyoacan two colonial towns that have now become part of Mexico City . I only had a short time to visit the Plazas but I think they are places I would like to enjoy for a few days. There are lots of accomodations available and as always the Mexican people were friendly and helpful.

Back on the bus we gradually worked our through the city as it was getting dark and cooler and traffic got slower . For my last day it was a full day .

and so ended my time there and I am so glad I finally went .

Advertisement



31st December 2014

Whew!
After the busy-ness there you must find it calm & quiet here. Well, maybe not , this week. Anyway, you do a great commentary of your travels. I think you would make other people want to see the sites for themselves from what you tell us. Another adventure to add to your list. love, R&C
31st December 2014

Culture
Interesting exploration. Were there English captions at the museums? Happy new year!

Tot: 0.654s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb