Homecoming


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello there! How´s it going? Box of tissues at the ready? The time has indeed come for my final blog of the trip, so if things get a bit emotional then don´t say I didn´t warn you.

Since I last wrote we´ve been in Mexico, where we started off in Tulum, which looking back has probably been our favourite spot in the country. The beaches all along the Caribbean coast have been fairly spectacular but for me Tulum will probably have to go down as my favourite of the entire trip. I´d try and explain how good the colour of the water was to you, but there just aren´t any words I´m afraid.

After Tulum things became a little less backpackery and a lot more touristy as we encountered the holiday resorts that this part of the world is most famous for. We stayed for one night in Playa del Carmen and then continued up the coast to the party town of Cancun. This was the scene of our first night out in a very long time as we paid a lot of money to go to ´Coco Bongo´. Before you get to the actual ´nightclub´part of the evening you are entertained by a wide array of different acts in a live show. I can honestly never say I´ve had a night out which featured Spiderman, Robbie Williams, Jack Sparrow and Usher before.

From Cancun we took a short ferry trip over to Isla Mujeres for our final island stop of the trip. The weather had started to falter a bit by the time we left, but we were still able to successfully relax for three days while we were there. You´re relieved to hear that news aren´t you? I can tell.

We then moved on to some of the colonial towns which the Yucatan area of Mexico has to offer, covering Merida, Campeche and San Cristobal before making our way to Mexico City for our final few days.

The highlight of the three has to be when Chris found himself at the mercy of a Spanish speaking clown in front of the crowds in Merida. His task was to help the clown act out a scene, which featured two other "volunteers". I may not be an expert in amateur dramatics, but I know Chris did a sterling job. He definitely has a theatrical career to fall back on if he ever needs it. In terms of the scene itself, that was a bit of a mixed bag, he killed his Canadian love rival with a pair of machetes no problem at all. The downside was that he was also fatally wounded.

The real highlight was when the clown was showing the ´girlfriend´ how she had to act out the final kiss scene. Rather than lie still and play dead Chris surprised the clown by leaning in for the kiss. The crowd was loving this and there was soon a chant of "beso, beso, beso" going around. The clown wasn´t sure. He was thinking about it, but he wasn´t sure. Chris took the decision away from him by planting one firmly on his lips.

I was crying a little bit by that point. Such a bad time to have forgotten my camera.

As the more astute of you will have noticed from the location of this blog, we are now in Mexico City which is where we catch our flight home from on Monday evening. Throughout the trip we´ve been vaguely wondering how we were going to deal with somewhere as massive as Mexico City, mainly due to the fact that our guidebook on Central America doesn´t stretch this far north. Enter Max and Steph. Max is a friend of a friend who has been in the city with his girlfriend Steph for the past 6 months and, despite only having met us briefly a couple of times, offered to show us around and keep us company for our time here which has been a lot of fun.

So, as I start to wrap up this final blog, the first of my thanks goes to Max and Steph for their hospitality.

Next up to thank is you lot. Or anybody that has read any of my blogs along the way. I hope you´ve enjoyed them, they seem to have gone down well with lots of people at home and, incredibly, they are all on track to have been viewed at least 100 times. Which I honestly can´t believe. So thanks for reading, I doubt I´d have written so many if they hadn´t been so well recieved.

My final thanks has to go to a Mr Christoher Ellis. You may have noticed that he has featured quite a lot along the way as the comical butt of my jokes. But that´s his fault for being a plonker so often to be honest. In all seriousness he is a lovely chap and I couldn´t have asked for a better travelling companion for the four months we´ve spent on the road. We´ve kept each other entertained with our idiotic ways, we´ve purposefully annoyed each other for as much as we could get away with, but most of all we are still best friends which I think tells its own story.

Anyway, it´s about time I bought my six months worth of ramblings to a close. I´m very excited to be coming home and seeing everybody again. I can honestly say that it has lived up to the high expectations that I had before we set off in January. I´ve thought long and hard about whether or not I should feel lucky to have been on this trip, bearing in mind that I worked and saved very hard in order to be able to. But I decided that if I shouldn´t feel lucky in that respect then I should in the sense that the opportunity to take 6 months out of your life to do what I´ve done just doesn´t present itself to everybody. Between the immaturity of being too young and the responsibility that comes as you get older not everybody has the chance to do something like this, so in that respect I definitely realise how lucky I´ve been to have had this trip.

That´s really it from me. Looking forward to seeing you all soon. Thanks again for reading.

Si

X

P.S. Always wanted to write these next two words on something....

THE END

Advertisement



18th July 2011

.... home soon YAY!!!
Brilliant Si - can't wait to see you both back home! Love 'n hugs mum xxxxxxxxx
18th July 2011

The 'highloigh'
Dya get it?? Did you go see the highloigh??
18th July 2011

A Grand Finale
Hi again Si, so this last and perhaps best of your epics heralds the end of the trail (for this time anyway). I must compliment you on a well written and informative record of your travels and many adventures. It has been great for us poor old "stay at homes" that we have been able to travel along with you and to share in some of those hair raising adventures. Each new "posting" has been eagerly awaited, sometimes even with a little frustration when the gap between bulletins seemed a little long. We have no doubt that it has been a wonderful trip and one you will appreciate all your life, the highs certainly have outweighed the one or two lows along the way. We too would like to say a big thank you to your true friend Chris who has been a staunch companion and we have enjoyed the privilege of reading his "so" amusing and interesting accounts. I expect that by the time you read this you will be back home with your friends and family, an event S,i that we are all looking forward to and as you will find out the weather has reverted to the typical British summer "cool wet and windy" by way of welcome home, though rumour has it a high is forecast, though that just might just apply to the region of the Botley household. Well done Si and Chris enjoy the flight home and see you soon. N&G R .
18th July 2011

Thank You!
Hi Si, another fantastic read, the last in a long line of great, entertaining blogs. We are all looking forward to seeing you soon. xx

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb