Ending Ecstasy and Starting Spirit . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Colima » Manzanillo
November 16th 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Transfer time has come again!

I finished things up on the Ecstasy. Brian is set to "take the training wheels off" as we joked. I did all my sign-off stuff and got packed. Chris and Brian took me to the crew bar on my last night for some wine to see me off. I've really enjoyed working with the two of them, and really, they'll be what's missed from the Ecstasy. But I was ready to go!

I had one night in a hotel in Houston. I had all sorts of ideas for work I'd get done with my blog and with work things. But instead I just crashed! I was so completely exhausted and useless! But never having a day off will do that to you I guess.

Yesterday I headed off to the airport and hopped on my flight to Ixtapa, Mexico. This transfer was so much smoother than that last epic one - thank goodness! Though I'd been warned it could be crazy . . . I had no idea Ixtapa even had an airport, and apparently neither did many other crew members I spoke with. The plane was small, the airport was small, but both were problem free. Ixtapa is also a tender port (meaning there is no pier, we have to take smaller boats between the ship and the shore) which could have been a disaster with all my luggage. But everyone from security to the tender guys to even the guests were helpful!

So now here I am on the West Coast of Mexico. I am so happy to be here. I feel like I have been waiting (or wanting) to be on this ship for so long. And now I'm really on the Spirit!

Today we're in Manzanillo, and from what I've been told there's not much to see here. I just went along with a bunch of crew members to a restaurant with wifi. I've got plenty of time to explore. And whatever anyone else says abot the ports being good or bad, I'm just excited to discover for myself!

The couple pics here are from the flight when we were nearing Ixtapa. I'd had a much needed nap on the flight and woke up just before our descent. I opened the windows to see that view. I've been to various Mexican ports on the other side and I thought I knew a decent amount about the country. But I've been apparently clueless about one thing - mountains! I think of Mexico and I think of beaches and desert like areas and even rainforests. But not mountains. Yet that's all I could see when I looked out the window and between the airport and the ship, we had a circle around a few. Who knew? Certainly not me. But those are the sorts of discoveries that await me . . .

Advertisement



25th November 2009

Good luck in this next contract Netter!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb