Palenque


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Palenque
March 30th 2011
Published: April 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was a long drive from Catemaco to Palenque but I really wanted to get to somewhere worth going. It's another jungle but here there is a magnificent Mayan ruin. The campground is quite nice with good facilities and nice swimming pool. That's important because it's hotter than hell and twice as humid. I went in swimming as soon as I set up the tent and then again after dinner. I still didn't sleep well on account of the heat, humidity, barking dogs, and howler monkeys making a horriffic racket but that was all well and good because I got an early start the next day touring the ruin. Awesome!

I spent the balance of the day talking to a Mexican who works at a Starbucks in Merida and a couple from Argentina who were on their honeymoon. I learned a lot but not so much Spanish because they spoke mostly in English. They said that my Spanish was actually pretty good which proves beyond a reasonable doubt that Spanish-speaking people everywhere are quite good at lying.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



2nd April 2011

Love your trip tic
John, It sounds like you are having the time of your life. Safe travels. Karen
2nd April 2011

Air Conditioning
So Johnny, have you been using the air conditioning in the Silly Scion? Or are you leaving it off to remind you of what it was like to travel in the Mighty Colt?
4th April 2011

Palenque! Pyramids! I'm so jealous. Much enjoying the ride, more pictures please!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb