The Hotel Yeneka


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur » La Paz
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

THE HOTEL

This place is so much fun I recommend it for the alternative traveller and adventure seeker on a budget. Right downtown and terribly stimulating.

Madero No.1520 e/ 16 de SeptembreE Indeptendencia, La PAz, BCS, Mexico. Tel y Fax 01 612 125 4688.
Email: ynkmacias@prodigy.net.mx .... elycerecer67@hotmail.com

Happy to report luckily brought my orange YMCA t-shirt for loungewear since I have been assigned room #20 … the yellow and orange room.
Lesson learned: turn on all taps to see a) if they work and b) is there enough pressure in the pipes to send the water in the shower far enough away from the wall so that hugging the wall during ones libation is not necessary.

It is a fifty year old hotel. The courtyard and every other spot that can hold, hang or suspend an object, is crammed full of old, antique treasure and junk.
A stuffed monkey drives a rusted tireless car. Ship’s chains, ropes and nets hang from the balcony. Three old sewing machines rest on cement beside a metal sewing table.
In the centre a computer sits astride an old desk plugged into spliced electrical cable. Tiles, bricks and iron wheels are embedded in cement, decorating walls, flower bed retainers and floors.
Palm trees and other foliage dry and drift down to rest on cushions, glass tables and rocking chair hand rests.
Extremely anorexic cats wander about, yowling in ecstasy, begging for food, and sleeping on the cushions. They also climb all over the place including on tables just outside my definitely unopened window!

On the second floor a little bridge crosses over to access the second floor rooms on the other side of the courtyard. This is a quirky place that has to be seen to be believed. A man walked in and was taking pictures, so unaware that he did not realize this is a hotel … the word is the same in almost every language.

A lock goes thru two round metal loops to close the room from outside. Inside a toilet cubicle sliding lock keeps intruders out while I am in. The bedside lamps are turned on and off at the door. The light over the mirror I am not touching. I am just using the plug dangling from it too charge my laptop. The big window has glass slats that are manipulated manually because the turning mechanism is missing the handle. Air is provided by turning on the window unit this unit is plugged in to the one out of two wall sockets that work. The ‘man-from-havana’ fan above the two ‘double? ‘beds is more efficient and a much quieter source of refreshing air.

The bathroom sink is just that…no fancy boudoir table for this round metal sink. The cold water tap moves freely about and has to be grasped so that the water can be shut of completely. It is important to not waste water. There is very little pressure probably because there is not much water. What a difference from LA where the water came out with a force unequalled even by my well pump.

The green tiles are cracked; the window is too high to close; there is a small half moon table but no chair. I worked sitting on the bed… there were two!

My clothes I washed out back and hung on the line with the hotel linen (tongue in cheek), again saving water. The size of the water pitcher (yogurt container) was my first clue as to how much water I should use.
WiFi in the CourtyardWiFi in the CourtyardWiFi in the Courtyard

Internet available next door at an internet cafe...one hour free fro each day of your stay. Otherwise the place is wired!!

A woman older than I has the job of cleaning the rooms. The little confetti leaves that are everywhere must daily be swept. They are the tiny leaves of the tamarind tree.

Today is Saturday and a lot of people are visiting. I think the people that work here live here too … sure looks like that. And the washing machine has just started.

Outside the hotel the chairs wait for a quiet sit down and enthusiastic chat. The woman, Sandra? in charge has on her white short overalls with black bathing suit beneath She is taking down , painting and rearranging all of the stuff lying about.

The locks, the tiles, the water are all worth it. The aura is good! The people are all friendly even the Sandra’s little boy. Her older now has a room full of friends and they are eating popcorn while watching television.

And I’m sitting here waiting for a call from the Truck!


THE FOOD

Have eaten two ice creams from two different locations. Ice cream cost 30 pesos when you get scammed and 14 pesos across the street from the hotel. The different sizes of containers are priced accordingly … non at 30. OK that was my first day.

Both mornings I have eaten tacos from a street stall. The first time I went there a big crowd was waiting to be served. So I figured it must be good. And it was . Had one taco … 3 tortillas on a late with some kind of meat and onions. Behind sliding plastic/glass doors the salsas to put on the taco were displayed in aluminium bowls. A spoon was in each bowl and everyone waited their turn to take what they wanted to put on their purchase.

I chose red onion, avocado sauce, tomato, parsley and onion salsa, some red hot sauce and fried whole peppers. Did not take cukes, radishes and or the five other kinds of sauces available because frankly the tortilla was too small to accommodate it all. The whole is eaten with the hands and it’s a trick not to lose the stuffing. The taco comes on a red plastic plate covered with a plastic bag so that no plate washing is involved. When finished the plastic bag is thrown out and the plate get recovered ready for the next customer. And they are unending.

If more than one taco is ordered the tacos are piled one on top of another on the same red plate. On day two I ate two tacos. It was pleasantly filling. The other patrons drank coke with their taco. Not me. When finished I was on the lookout for a perfect cup of coffee.

On day two found it at Café Gourmet just down the street. The place has a French chef statue standing outside. I had a mocha on the rocks … yes the dreaded ice cubes … with a generous dollop of whipping cream on top.

After taking the bus to Playa tecolote and walking along the beach I was ready for lunch and a cold drink. I did have a small panic because I lost my shoes!
I had taken them off and velcroed them to the straps of my bag. The cloth bag has handles long enough to wrap around my shoulder backpack style.

The Velcro must have let go because of the wetness of the sandals. Anyway I am at the extreme end of the beach and have no shoes. The shell searching stopped and the sandal search was on. A lot of the time I had been walking in the water. Did the sandals get taken out with the waves? I scrutinized every black bump in the water and on the shore.
No sandals. I did find a stranded sea urchin his little hear beating wildly. I picked him up with my umbrella because I did not want to touch his spikes. After pushing it out past the close breaking waves continued my sandal search.

And then almost where I had started my walk laid my sandals where they had fallen in the sand. Thank you there is a small god. I could now go with a relaxed demeanour and enjoy some food.

After the huge meal at the Three Virgins I was a bit leery of a full meal. I ordered the fish soup. The waiter said I would like it. If I did not like it I would not have to pay.
And I said if I liked it would I have to pay double? I have posted a picture of the soup a second time in case the first time missed. The ingredients were well cooked and spiced. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole plate full. Before the soup chips with salsa and mayo were served. And the absolutely first thing I drank was Nescafe in cold water with I ice cubes and sugar. It was very refreshing. Dreaded ice cubes a second time!

Too hot to eat again. Was satisfied with water and orange shortbread cookies after having a sherbet across the treat. This time the treat came from a store (franchise) that sells old fresh fruit juice, sherbets, ice cream and nachos.

Day three with the news that the truck is heading I had two tacos and a coffee bin a café beside the church whose bells I have been hearing.

At three o’clock I will have to find some kind of food. Have been drinking water and one beer.

So far the food has been excellent. Ii have not gone to Burger King where a HUGE playground is offered nor have I trod into Appleseed’s blatant advertised as a neighbourhood bar and grill.

Am going to take a picture of the monkey driving the car and close off.

Come to the Hotel Yeneka! It is a unique treat if you like things out of the ordinary.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Fish SoupFish Soup
Fish Soup

The fish soup waiter is friends with the owner of Hotel Yeneka.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb