The Quest for Wal Mart and setting up my "kitchen".


Advertisement
Published: February 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

My OfficeMy OfficeMy Office

It is so nice to sit out on my shaded patio and enjoy the fresh air and sounds of Old Mexico.
January 31 - Cabo –Thursday - I went to bed at a decent time but woke up in the middle of the night and so did some reading on Cabo before going back to bed around 6AM. I woke up around 1PM and so got my usual time of the day start. I pretty much just relaxed on the terrace for a couple of hours and drank my tea while writing my blog and thinking things over. I decided to go to Wal Mart to get some milk, 100% whole wheat bread, cereal, and fruit. The meals at restaurants are mostly meat or fish with hardly anything with fiber. So I have to make sure to work fiber into my diet on my own.

So I walked down to the bus stop on Lazaro Cardenas east of Puerto Paraiso Mall to catch a bus to Wal Mart to stock up. They have the Transporte Colectivo busses that go to almost everywhere. On the front windshield is written the locations that they go to. These Colectivo buses are pretty much “third world” type buses with benches around the side. I saw a better looking bus that had some locations written on
Puerto Paraiso MallPuerto Paraiso MallPuerto Paraiso Mall

A mall is just a mall but it is a good marker for figuring out where you are. The Marina is on the other side of it.
the front and asked the guy if they went to Wal Mart. Or more correctly said “Wal Mart?”. He kinda grimaced a bit but said OK. So I figured he would go a little out of the way for me to Wal Mart. I paid $1 USD. I should have waited for the Colectivo bus as what happened down the road was the guy suddenly looked at me as if he had forgotten to tell me where to get off at and told the bus driver “Wal Mart….Wal Mart”. So we had obviously went past the Wal Mart. They let me off at the side of the road and pointed across the highway indicating I would cross the highway and then walk back towards town a bit. This was all said in Spanish of which I understood none. So I got off and walked back towards town a bit where I could cross the busy highway with less chance of getting run over. Then I crossed over the road and walked back towards town about a mile or two and found the bus stop for Sam’s and Wal Mart. The walk across the parking lot and past some other stores
Old MexicoOld MexicoOld Mexico

Since I am on a budget I get to experience the "real" Mexico
to the Wal Mart was about another 200 yards. Not bad for walking but I had to factor that in for when I came back carrying groceries. I had brought one of those Barnes and Noble book bags which carry 50 lbs with me. I had to make sure I didn’t buy any more than would fit in one bag.

As always I would have my messenger bag with “essentials” on my left side with the strap over my neck on my right shoulder. I keep my wallet and passport in my front pocket with my hand holding the strap of the messenger bag so that the bag is over the pocket a bit. This is to help to deter pickpockets. I actually had a pickpocket try to pick my pocket at the Busaras bus station in Dublin but he went away empty handed.

In any case Wal Mart was a bit of a disappointment. They didn’t have some of the things I wanted and there prices were no bargain. Also there bananas were very, very overripe. The kind I throw away back home and get fresh ones……No, now that I think of it I never let bananas
Transporte Collectivo BusTransporte Collectivo BusTransporte Collectivo Bus

Cheap transportation. They have the location of where they are going written on the front. I should have taken this bus to Wal Mart.
get that bad before I throw them away.

But I applied the travelers rule (back home I have better….but a traveler must be content…) and carried on. I didn’t buy the bananas but found a couple in a store later, also overripe but not as much.

While I was at Wal Mart I also bought a 5 meter extension cord so that I could use my computer on the terrace without having to run on battery and having my battery run out before I was through.

I had intended to go down to the beach but was thoroughly tired by now so I found a place with a bench off the main drag and relaxed a bit and took in things before trudging back to the Cabo Inn.

When I got back to the Cabo Inn I washed and dried the fruit and put things on the large tiled shelf in my room to be available to use. My room doesn’t have a refrigerator but there is one in the open area downstairs. So I put my milk and butter there.

There is also a tap for filtered water for drinking. I had bought a couple of 1.5 liter bottles of water yesterday which I refill there, as well as my 500ml water bottles which I refill and take out with me in my messenger bag.

So now I have got thing set up pretty much as I want it and can turn my focus on exploring Cabo tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Setting up my kitchenSetting up my kitchen
Setting up my kitchen

Wherever I go....there I am...all set up.


2nd February 2013

Checking out Cabo
Hi William, We went to Cabo a couple of years ago and stayed in one hotel and two time shares. Not our usual but we had friends with a time share and they had been wanting us to join them. We didn't feel like we saw the real Cabo. It was rather sanitized. Anyone we found one gem among the tourist crap. Go to a small, small hole in the wall restaurant called Gordo's Le le in old Cabo. The shrimp fajitas are wonderful and the owner sings Beatles songs while you eat. He has a fantastic voice. Ask him to get the music going. You won't want to miss this location. http://www.travelblog.org/North-America/Mexico/Baja-California-Sur/Cabo-San-Lucas/blog-592072.html Happy travels.
4th February 2013

Gordo's le le
I tried to read the link but all I kept getting was the picture of the crab. I'll check Gordo's out on tripadvisor and if it is walking distance from the Marina area check it out. Thanks.
3rd February 2013

travel
you are getting your exercise in , glad you found <WALMART< looking forward to seeinf all the pictures from your exploring trip
4th February 2013

Getting in my walks
Yes I am. I walked all over again yesterday and today. After watching the whales today I walked around and along the East side of the Marina and to the beaches there. Tomorrow I will walk along the West side of the marina and to the beach there.
1st March 2013
Setting up my kitchen

immersible heater
My little immersible heater for heating up water for my tea came in real handy. I was also glad to see that in Mexico they use 110V just as in the US.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb