Mexico


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Kiss/ El BesoThe Kiss/ El BesoThe Kiss/ El Beso

One of the semi-famous natural formations found in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.
Would you like to go to Mexico with me? Who wouldn't say yes! I had been asked my mentor, veterinarian Dr. Kim. I had been working with her at the Golden Valley Humane Socitey for about a year thru a program in my high school. I was very excited to go to Cabo San Lucas and practice my Spanish and help some unwanted pets along the way. The day we arrived, it was hot. Coming from Minnesota, the temperature change was quite dramatic since we decided to go in November. It was beautiful. We drove (at about 100 mph) straight to the animal clinic we were going to work at. It was a small clinic packed with dogs, cats, and volunteers. After a quick meeting we were allowed to check out the place we were going to stay for the first week. Since this was a volunteer trip, our accomedations for the week we were working was covered. We stayed in a beautiful apartment complex donated to us for a week.
The next day we went to work. The goal: steralize as many animals as possible, safely. The week was rough, and the head director wasn't the nicest woman.
Heavenly TouchHeavenly TouchHeavenly Touch

The day after Dia de los Muertos, my friend and I decided to pay our respects to all of the beautiful graves and decorations. The sun was setting giving the illusion of something special.
I could understand why, but there was no reason to treat people like she did. Because of this, I began to take my breaks away from the people at the clinic. Plenty of the dogs (I am not a cat person) needed to be played with. I began to feel a special thing for one little puppy at the clinic. She was tiny, underweight, and was often picked on by the other larger dogs. I named her Luna because she had beautiful yellow eyes. She couldn't have been more then 3 months old. Throughout the week I cleaned her up. I gave her a flea and tick bath, brushed her, gave her heartworm meds. Each day she became more and more like a puppy should be. Instead of hiding in the corner she would run right up to me. She became so much more happy. Even her curly tail began to way a little more. By the end of the week I heard some bad news. Due to the overcrowding at the shelter, many of the dogs were going to be put to sleep... I decided the puppy was coming home with me. "You saved her life," my friend told
The 3 AmigosThe 3 AmigosThe 3 Amigos

A few local burros (donkies) were enjoying the view of the ocean in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.
me. One of the volunteers was so happy, she gave me the $80 to fly her home. She wouldn't let me refuse the money.
Once our week working was up, I had to leave Luna at the clinic for another week so we could travel for another week. It was a great week filled with many activities but Luna was always in my mind. We picked her up a few hours before we left for the airport when our week was up. She had been spoiled by the volunteers. I was given a carry case, leash, collar, and meds. I was so thankful for everyone's help. Luna seemed to know she was going to a good place. She nicely played with me in the airport while we waiting for the plane. She slept on both flight the whole way. When we got home, my family picked me up and welcomed our newest arrival. She settled right into our home and she remains there as happy as can be. We think she knows how lucky she was and loves every minute of life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

LunaLuna
Luna

The special little puppy I rescued from Mexico!
My BabyMy Baby
My Baby

Luna and I on a break at the clinic in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. She ended up coming home with me!
Anchors AwayAnchors Away
Anchors Away

Checking out the pier in Cabo. It was beautiful!
You Missed a SpotYou Missed a Spot
You Missed a Spot

Yours truely shaving some doggie ball in preparation for a sterlization surgery at the clinic.
Having a Little FunHaving a Little Fun
Having a Little Fun

I guess the towns people do too! lol
Vroom VroomVroom Vroom
Vroom Vroom

Four-wheeling, Mexico style! Where else can you be in desert one second, go over a hill and be on a beach! Craziness :)
Princess of the WorldPrincess of the World
Princess of the World

...or at least these concrete blocks! lol
Check it! 1, 2, 1, 2Check it! 1, 2, 1, 2
Check it! 1, 2, 1, 2

Checking the heartbeat during on of the many sterlization surgeries at the clinic.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb