Dawson City...day 5


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Dawson City
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I broke the news to Adrian and Derek when they returned home from the Dempster last night. They took it well, but I'm sure it was still disappointing. So we developed a plan, and it goes something like this...

I called the Kawasaki dealer in Fairbanks, about 375 miles away if I recall correctly. They had my part in stock. I paid for it over the phone, and told them Adrian would be by either later today or tomorrow to pick it up. Adrian was going over that way today anyways, so it worked out well. Once Adrian gets the part, he is going to try to find it a ride down here to Dawson City. There's a lot of travelers going to and from this area this time of year, so I think there is a good chance of making this work. When he finds someone, he is going to tell them to leave the part at the visitor's center here in town. We checked with the visitor's center, and they said no problem at all! He is going to try to let us know somehow what he finds. That is probably via email.

Once I get the part, if I can get back on the road right away we are going to try to meet back up with Adrian in Coldfoot, AK. That is on the way up to Prudhoe Bay, as far north as we are going to go. I think there is a good chance this will work out. It may take a little work on Adrian's part, but he is cool with it. What a guy! I'm still so impressed with Canadians!

So we have sub-plan as well. If Adrian can't find the part a ride to Dawson, he is going to ride back to the border of AK/Yukon and camp there. Derek will go and meet him there, and then Derek will bring the part back to me. I really hope it doesn't come to that, because it ends up being a lot of riding for both those guys. Splitting up makes communication very difficult, since my cell phone doesn't work in town and Adrian doesn't have regular internet access. It is even worse when we are all 3 in separate locations. But I pray for guidance and that everything will work out the way it is supposed to, and let things play out.

I still have a little work I can do to my bike until the part gets here. That way everything will be ready to throw into place (carefully) and I'll be ready to hit the road.

There is one thing that frustrated me about the sprockets I was sent yesterday. It isn't a show-stopper but it might be a slight inconvenience. The stock gearing for the sprockets on my bike is 15 tooth in front, and 43 tooth in the rear. Well I told them to send me the stock setup, and they sent me a 14 tooth instead. This still works fine mechanically, but limits my top speed. I never hit top speed, but the way it affects me is higher RPM's at cruising speed. I know Derek likes to cruise faster, and I like to cruise slower. Now this problem will be amplified even further. We'll figure something out. I'm not up for calling the dealer back and telling them to send me a different sprocket. Th3 14 tooth sprocket is better suited for off-road use and slower speeds, but most of this trip does not fall into that category. My fuel mileage may suffer because of this too. Oh well, I'll just go with it. I'm just tired of being in Dawson, it is time for the new and unknown terrain.

Well that is all. It is raining here and I'm just waiting for the weather to clear so I can go back and work on my bike.

Continue to pray for me...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb