It's Good to Be Home


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan
April 16th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After a fascinating six weeks on the road, it was a good feeling to be back in Canada Friday afternoon, and even better to be back in Esterhazy tonight! My return flights were without serious incident: Air Canada ripped a handle off my new suitcase (it was pretty heavy I guess), and kept us waiting in the plane for an extra 40 minutes in Vancouver before taking off today, but the flights themselves were smooth and the weather here is much warmer than I expected. In fact, my room is hotter than any I had in Guatemala while I was away, including the two nights at Tikal where daytime temperatures hovered around +35°C.

I'll try not to say "si" when you say something I agree with or call my name. It will take me a bit to digest all that I've experienced, but overall I would say that though there is still much suffering in Guatemala, there is also a resilience, a determination, and a hope that bodes well for the future.

Sinced it's getting late and tomorrow morning I'm expected to be inspiring (or at least awake), that will have to do for tonight. You can expect one more entry to this blog, hopefully within a couple of days. Happy Easter!

Advertisement



16th April 2006

Happy Easter
Hi Alan, Welcome back to Canada. Thanks for sharing all those experiences with us. It has been a very interesting read and the descriptions of all things made me feel the country and the people a little bit more. Happy Easter Alan to you and your family.
16th April 2006

Welcome Home
Good to hear you are safely back on Canadian soil. We have been having great weather for April George Crawford is going with me to Edmonton next Friday for 10 days. My Mother passed away suddenly on Feb. 28. When one is 91 years passed and to go so quickly with conjestive heart failure - one can't ask for anything better. Hear from you soon. Happy Easter.
16th April 2006

Easter Greeting
Forgot to say Happy Easter.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb