Winnipeg to Churchill II


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan
October 25th 2009
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

... I can do breakfast, lunch and dinner for the next two days no problem, but then there's the forty-eight hour return journey and I'm assuming resources will be limited up there. A bit worried because it's costing so much (SO MUCH) just to get up there in the first place. So happy to have met Charmaine. This journey alone would be really tough. She's intelligent, articulate and beautiful in an endearingly geeky way. Hardcore enough and self-aware enough to vow to forego make-up for her entire five week trip, which is braver than I am. She's had maids all her life in Pakistan, and a rock star dad, and a personal chauffeur for school, and a bodyguard... it's crazy. But she's smart and strong enough to make it by herself in Canada at ninieteen, alone, and just adapt, and work and study, and be cool. She's a bit special, I think. Not in the usual euphemistic sense, just special.
Feel quite sick in the nose-ear-throat today, and hungry, but I just have to suck it up because there's precious little I can do about it. I am a passenger, and I ride, and I ride. The landscape hasn't changed at all in a full twenty four hours. It's like an animation or a joke. It actually reminds me of home a little, although there's no variation in foliage AT ALL. Birch pine spruce, birch pine spruce... The yellow ones are disconcerting! Yellow evergreens? I can't help thinking they're malaised but I'm assured they're supposed to look like that. Seeing some snow on the ground now, getting excited for more potential Christmas storybook forest times.
Yeah, excited about finally getting to Churchill too. The tundra buggies are the ones David Attenborough has used, National Geographic have used. It's a big deal!

2pm.
The trees are drunk! All the trees are growing at opposing angles here because the ground is too boggy to keep them upright.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb