Quebec - Riviere Ouelle


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec
August 19th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ahoy. I have poison ivy again! it always seems to find me (3rd time this summer). However I am equipped with anti-itch cream that makes it bearable. As I sit in my tent to write this it smells pretty terrible (on a scale from one to terrible). This is due to it being packed wet for 3 days. 130km today turned out to be 150km. Thats the bad news... now on to the good.
It was rediculously hot and humid in Quebec city, but now it is about 10C cooler and the humidity is gone. I'm riding with Bryan today and for the next few days as well which has turned out to be a real treat to share the experience with someone, and he definatley came in handy today when the screw on my rack came out again. Turns out the thread on the frame is stripped, but nothing zip ties and duct tape couldnt repair (hopefully). I have been seeing more and more cycle tourists as I move east in Quebec, today especially, which is certainly a welcome sight. What else is a welcome sight is the stunning view of the appalachins from the south side of the river. It looks like I will be into decent sized hills of my own tommorrow. The water here has a tide and to my belief is now salt which is making me super excited to hit the maritimes in a few days. Oh, how I miss thee.
Also Bryan has been commenting how organized I am and that its almost laughable; given my pre-planned route and list of contacts and places to stay etc. At first I was moderatley insulted by this as I consider myself a free spirit, but it was eye-opening to not only this but other aspects of my life that I demand structure out of. Therefore I need to relax my mind to the grand potential of the unprepared. Anyways. Just a thought. Bye for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

two tents > one tenttwo tents > one tent
two tents > one tent

first legit campsite
crosscross
cross

reminded me of hiking in switzerland.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb