It's a Wonderful Life!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Simcoe
July 21st 2016
Published: July 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

I think the biggest challenge so far has been to sit down and write a blog. I have so many ideas floating around in my head, but it seems I am a bit of a procrastinator when it comes to writing it all down.

So...it has been a couple weeks since my last post, my apologies. I spent the last week in Edmonton, visiting family before I leave the country for our voyage. Lukus was left behind to hold down the fort (boat), which he did very well...it was still there when I got home 😊

It was wonderful to be together with the whole family, I must admit, I feel very loved and cared about whenever I visit there. It seems my family members all negotiate with each other where I get to stay and for how long. One of them mentioned how stressful it must be to feel torn between everyone, but honestly, it’s much better than the opposite option of everyone wanting you out of their house!

It was a great week, but wow, I was exhausted coming home. I needed a few days rest after my vacation! Besides my grandmother, my parents, two uncles, an aunt and two cousins, my two cousins are also married with a whopping 7 kids between them (under the age of 9). One thing I realized, I am not getting younger! Here I had fooled myself into thinking that I am growing backwards. I definitely feel like a child so many times, but apparently, my body has other ideas.

The time in Edmonton surrounded by all these little ones reminded me though of how quickly time does pass, and the wonderful opportunity I have been given. So many people I talk to about our upcoming trip greet the news with enthusiasm and excitement, and often I hear “that’s great. Do it now, before you are too old to enjoy it”.

I think this is one of the lessons I have embraced. Too many times, people have dreams of adventures and experiences, but they see them just as that, dreams. They think “one day I will….”, but that is usually followed by “once I have…”. Dreams of travel or experiences, hobbies, interests or even relaxation are hinged on having enough money saved up, being well-established, waiting for kids to grow up, retirement, the list of requirements goes on. The problem is, there never seems to be enough money saved, you are never established well enough, kids have grandkids, etc. And if you wait until retirement, there are many new reasons why chasing your dream may become even more challenging.

In the past I was always a big daydreamer; painting all sorts of possibilities in my mind with my imagination. A couple weeks ago, I suddenly realized, I hardly ever daydream anymore. I wondered where that idealist had gone. I seemed to have lost my ability to imagine and envision. As I pondered that disturbing thought, it dawned on me. I am not conjuring up dreams and chasing after them, because I am living them.



Rather than set expectations in my mind through imagining what things might be like, I am now living with expectation of what each new day might bring, and I will tell you, it’s a full of wonder life!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb