Ottawa's Major Museums -- a brief overview


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
October 22nd 2015
Published: October 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

What comes to mind when you think of Ottawa? Mounties, Parliament Hill, marching Guards in scarlet uniforms with bearskin hats, the Rideau Canal, gazillions of tulips, music festivals galore? Well, believe me, there’s plenty more to delight the entire family.



Like any national capital, Ottawa has an important role to play in passing on the nation’s cultural and historical heritage to future generations. It accomplishes this through eleven national museums and cultural institutions, funded jointly by the federal government, private donations, and in some cases admission fees. Here is a brief overview of those that I consider the eleven most important ones, but of course there are many smaller ones too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



23rd October 2015

Touristry Should Be Your Retirement Career
Thanks Fred for reminding me of all those lovely museums I took for granted when I lived in Ottawa. I did manage to get to most of them over the years. Of course the Art Gallery is spectacular and I sure miss going there. They opened the War Museum just when I was leaving Ottawa. It is quite impressive!!! Must say I missed the Morningstar ceiling painting. How lovely. Thanks for keeping our history and culture alive!!! Great pictures.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb