Madoc - Ottawa - Alexandria


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
August 13th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

dan. stoked.dan. stoked.dan. stoked.

20 storeys tall. made of radiation.
Let me rewind a few days to Tuesday, as I neglected to write.

Started off the day with Tim's breakfast where upon I met a delightful man named Walt who has done alot of cycle touring of his own (namely in Switzerland) and he was very happy to share a chat with me, and supplied me with a map of Quebec for the roads ahead. O, and he was raised in Collingwood.
Anyways the rest of the day wasn't terribly difficult terrain wise, and there was minimal traffic, but boy was it long (185km!) google earth is a filthy liar. Was on the road for 10 hours that day.

In Ottawa, my camera (which I neglected to mention was broken) fixed itself, which was a lovely surprise. We couldn't go bungee jumping because they were fully booked, but we had a good day regardless walking downtown. Dan hustled cash from his two bank accounts with no I.D. to pay his landlord and that was pretty sweet. Then we hang out with some of his friends and tried to catch a glimpse of a meteor shower (little to no success). Dan's parents cooked some killer meals and I had a
parlimentparlimentparliment

I had to.
nice long chat about ski racing with Kathy as she used to race for the national team.

Now on to today... It was a short 140km that only took 6.5 hours. The terrain was dead flat with very few bends in the road. It felt like I was going through the praries. Another 30+ degree day I assume. When I got to Alexandria, I stopped at the Family Resteraunt and treated myself to a 3 course meal for under $20 (beers included). That was pretty fantastic. I'm now camped on a local hiking/cross-country ski train just outside of town, hoping no-one actually gets exercise in Alexandria (I'm right on the trail). and I'm waiting until it gets dark to see if the meteor shower is still on tonight. Montréal tommorow. I am the excite. Over and out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

flatflat
flat

It looked like this most of the day.
boardwalkboardwalk
boardwalk

this lead to the hiking trails I camped upon.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb