Ottawa, our capital for food


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
April 14th 2008
Published: April 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jail HostelJail HostelJail Hostel

Where I stayed
I ate my way through Ottawa. These people sure do know how to eat. I had some great dinners here, and excellent baked goods. Highlights of the trip: all the cool people I met at the conference, the food, the creepy hostel which use to be a jail, and the museum of civilization. The museum had a show on all about the pre Incan people called the Sican in Peru. Great gold metalworkers! At the show, this guy comes up to me and starts speaking Spanish, thinking I was a student I guess. Once we used broken French and English, he told me he had never hear of the Sican, and he was from Peru! This is a pretty new area of interest then.
BTW, I have no pics of the actual conference as most people are super shy about cameras and I can never get any good ones, so I give up.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Byway MarketByway Market
Byway Market

Busier in the summer, but still the place to get great food, the market has been there for 200 years.
The parlament bldThe parlament bld
The parlament bld

too bad it was so overcast most of the trip
Grad officesGrad offices
Grad offices

for all grad students in the history dept. all 50 of them. I will never complain about space again.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb