An outing in Ottawa


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
September 12th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

From Winnipeg we flew to Toronto and then up to Ottawa. Arriving at 21:30, just in time for a trip to the pub. We went to a bar just round the corner from the hotel and enjoyed a couple of pints before retiring for a good night's sleep. The next day I slept in and was up and off out at 11am. Being right in the centre of Ottawa meant not to far too walk to get to the main sights. I walked a couple of blocks and just happened to pass a Starbucks - I tell ya, I can sniff them out!!! I grabbed a morning latte and kept on strolling.

This was my first visit to Ottawa and I was looking forward to exploring. Ottawa sits at the junction of three rivers - the Gatineau, the Rideau and the Ottawa River. The city also borders the province of Québec, with Gatineau on the Quebec side. This creates a culture where both French and English are intertwined - a European feel is abound. Ottawa is the Capital of Canada and home to the Federal Government. This was my first port of call- Parliament Hill. I walked up Sparks Street and over to Wellington Street and soon found the towering vista of the Parliament Buildings - this notification was aided by the hordes of tourists milling around the area. They are beautiful buildings, with a gothic style to them. From here I wandered down Wellington Street. I came to a bridge which runs over the Rideau Canal. The view down from the bridge was down to the Rideau Locks and out over the Ottawa River. In the distance I could see the area of Gatineau and the Museum of Civilisation. The very fancy Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel is on the other side of the bridge. I crossed the road, passing the War Memorial on the way. From here I took a road which ran down to the water's level and enjoyed a stroll along the banks of the Rideau Canal. The Rideau Canal is 126 miles long. It was built during1826 to 1832 and links Ottawa to the Great Lakes. In the winter, part of the canal becomes the world’s largest skating rink Eventually, I crossed over Pont Laurier Bridge. The road here passes City Hall. I walked along Elgin Street back to Wellington and went down to the Rideau Locks.

The Bytown Museum sits beside the Locks and it's the oldest stone building in town. The area around the Locks has lots of river side walks. I took one path which led me towards Pont Alexandra Bridge and gave me wonderful views out over the River and to the Museum of Civilisation in the distance. I walked to the top of the path and went higher up to the NCC Astrolabe Theatre, a small outside arena sitting high up above the bridge. Nepean Point at the top gives great views in all directions. From here I went down past the National Gallery to Notre Dame Basilica. In front of the National Gallery sits a huge spider - thankfully made out of metal and not real. I then made my way through Major Hill's Park to the side of Chateau Laurier and then back up Wellington Street to Parliament Hill. I took a path which made it's way right round the Hill to the back of the Parliament Building.

After this I had to make my way back to the Hotel as it was nearly check out time and I had to prepare for the day ahead. I had a great walk around Ottawa and it's a very beautiful city. Certainly somewhere I would be happy to visit again.

Well, take care. Lots of love xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 25; qc: 148; dbt: 0.1891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb