Our preparation, planning and booking sure has changed?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Niagara Falls
September 10th 2011
Published: September 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We have been to Europe a number of times, however; the way we travel has changed dramatically since that time. In 1984 I booked our trip with a travel agent. All my information came from travel publications such as Travel & Leisure, and the travel section of the Star and Globe. Our reservations were made by teletype, fax or snail mail. This time, our information was obtained by travel blogs, Trip Advisor and other websites. Airmiles was used for the airfare and hotels, and everything else was reserved online - instantaneously.

Rarely did we think about calling home. We knew everyone would be excited to learn about our trip once we returned and had the film developed. Now I have a global SIM that I will put in a quad band GSM phone and make calls for a 10th of what I did back in '84. If a quick message is all that I want to send then SMS is faster and easier. My digital photos will now be available for your viewing pleasure every night.

We hope you enjoy following us on our excellent adventure!

Ciao! Arrivederci.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb