Niagara Power


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Niagara Falls
March 15th 2004
Published: March 15th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I had one of he most incredible experiences of my life today. I saw Niagara Falls from the touristy-perspective, taking pictures of me smiling with my back to the familiar scene of the cascading horseshoe falls. I walked upstream a ways and stuck my feet in (strong current, by the way). But then, oh then came the ultimate: down to the Cave of the Winds to walk in front of the American falls! I walked on that narrow walkway, feeling the wind send a spray of mist onto my face. But then i strolled closer; the water at the base of the falls was bounding over boulders, a perfect rainbow was suspended over the scene, water droplets covered my hair and i had to stop myself from screaming with delight. There were no words to express it. My heart felt like that water splashing over the rocks.
But then i walked closer - i had to tilt my head all the way back to see the top of the falls. All i could do was laugh and squeal like a child. i had to wipe the water off my face so i could see.
But then i went even closer...fifteen feet from the falls, but it felt as if i could've reached out my hand to touch it. The platform vibrated beneath my feet and my ears were filled with a deafening roar. I stepped as close as i could. I couldn't even open my eyes in the torrential downpour and my clothes were soaked underneath my ponch. Just standing there, head thrown back, eyes closed, body drenched, laughing with glee...i have never been more conscious of such intense happiness in my life!
The beloved Rabbi in the movie "Fiddler on the Roof" says rightly, "There is a blessing for everything." My heart was pounding as i breathlessly murmured the blessing upon seeing a wonder in nature:
                                  

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb