Ontario family and friends


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » London
August 23rd 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Joe's Gizzard CityJoe's Gizzard CityJoe's Gizzard City

Mmmmmmmm!!!!!
Re·un·ion  a gathering of relatives, friends, or associates after separation

Oh my goodness it feels like I haven't written a blog in SOOOOO long. This one might be SOOOOO long. No sleeping while reading, or being read too (Dick)!!!!
August 12, 2010. Another stop to a Diner Drive In and Dive. This time we are off to Potterville Michigan. Here we found Joe's Gizzard City. We were sooooo excited to find this place. Plates and plates of gizzards!!!! Does life get any better???
We had gizzards one other time when we dropped Scott off to school in Jamestown North Dakota. We went to the local racetrack and beside me sat a man eating a take away container of "popcorn" gizzards. I was incredibly intrigued but hesitant to get my own whole container, so I leaned over and asked my seat mate if I could possibly just try one of his gizzards. (I really did look very serious and respectful and didn't burst out laughing once). Anyway he was more than happy to share one of his little morsels. so as I "popped" one in my mouth, While Rene and the kids looked on in horror and embarassement, I
Grace's porchGrace's porchGrace's porch

Cooling off on the quiet porch with Grace and Uric
"popped" a little gizzard in my mouth. Oh what a delightful little surprise!!! It was really yummy. Very unique flavor, texture and best of all taste. So when Rene was researching places to go and found Joe's Gizzard City and it was even on our way. I was crazy with excitement. Alas neither I nor Rene were disappointed and we ordered the mega plates of assorted flavored gizzards. Herb and garlic gizzards, cajun gizzards and a few original gizzards. Mmmmmm. After a more than satisfying and delicious meal we carried on towards the Canadian border.

I was a little gun shy this time at the border, so I told Rene it was his turn to answer the questions. Well, lucky Rene, this nice young lady asked him 2 questions which he answered quicky and efficiently and away we went. We arrived at Rene's oldest sister Grace's home in London Ontario at about 5:00 pm, just in time for dinner. Visited the night away and off to bed.

August 13, 2010, we woke up to screaming heat and humidity. Grace and her wonderful (and oh so funny) friend Uric showed us around London. we looked at the sights and
Metal trees Metal trees Metal trees

Downtown London
wandered around the city. Very beautiful city with these great multi colored metal trees in the streets. I guess the story in that the residents of London could buy one of these trees and have it placed anywhere in the downtown streets of London. All different colors. It really looks fun. Grace and Uric are both very community minded people, who volunteer in their community and on this night Uric was scheduled to volunteer serving the homeless, Friday night supper of sandwiches, salad, beverages and cookies. Part of the plan for this trip is to volunteer if we have the opportunity. Here was our first opportunity to help, so Uric took us along and both Rene and I assisted where we could and had a great time serving others. Gave us an opportunity to remember how blessed and forunate we truly are. That evening the 4 of us went downtown London to check out "Afrofesta" festival. We were entertained for a couple of hours by the music and sights celebrating the African/Carribean culture.

August 14, 2010 another cooker in the sun. It was +37 and with the humidex, felt like +42. Now that is HOT!!! For me being born
Bill and Di and boysBill and Di and boysBill and Di and boys

Ontario friends
and bred in dry air Alberta, that kind of humidity is quite unthinkable. I found shade under even the tiniest trees. Tracy---- I think you might have even broke a sweat, it was that hot).Rene thought it was great and stood out in the sun all day. (I told you he was crazy). later in the afternoon we moved on from Grace to our friend Bill and Diane. Spent the rest of the afternoon and evening catching up with them and thier boys, Ben and Davey.

August 15, 2010, we spent the day hanging out at Bill and Diane's visiting, reading and napping. Had a wonderful steak BBQ with the whole family and had a dip in thier pool. What a wonderfully relaxing, lazy day.

August 16, 2010, Rene helped Bill for the day with renovating a new property. Diane went to work, so I went walking and exploring and found this great little "village" with some unique shops. I spent the day mostly window shopping. Looking at lots of unique and fun curios, clothes and jewelry. I even went for for a wonderful, outdoor garden massage. Spent another relaxed evening with Bill, Diane and the boys. Bill
Mike and JodiMike and JodiMike and Jodi

More Ontario friends
it was good to spend time with an old friend. Di, it was nice to learn more about you and great to meet the boys. Thanks so much Mr. Bill, Lady Di and the heirs.

August 17, 2010, we were on the move again. Moving closer towards the Hoekstra family and their reunion in Cobourg Ontario. Mom and Dad Hoekstra, 7 brothers and sisters, several brother and sister in laws, lots of nieces and nephews and now even great nieces and nephews. Can't wait to see them all. Stopped at yet more long time friends, Cecil and Sylvia. Rene worked with Cecil on the dairy farm in Cobourg over 30 years ago. They sat down together to shoot the %&*# and it was like they were together always talking about the farm. Had a wonderful lunch with them at their farm and made another mile to stop at our friends Mike and Jodi, yet another step closer to the family. Mike and Jodi again are long time friends. Mike and Rene were wild teenagers together and from the sounds of it got into some interesting teen troubles. Mike and Jodi own and operate Alpine Resort along with Jodi's sister
SailingSailingSailing

Sail boats in the race
and her hubby. Had a great evening with them. Our kids are all very close in age, so interesting to hear about how all the children and now grandchildren are doing.

August 18, 2010 had breaky with Mike and Jodi and off to the HOEKSTRA family!!!! Mom and Dad Hoekstra of course welcomed us with open arms. How sweet and wonderful to see them again and feel their love for their son and of course me, the favorite daughter-in-law. Yes that's right!!! I am the favored daughter-in-law. O.K, the truth is I am the ONLY daughter-in-law at this time. Nice position to be in if you ask me!!! The only daughter of my parents and the only daughter-in-law of the Hoekstra's. Too bad I just discovered this interesting fact. I wonder if I could make these positions work to my advantage!!! Hmmmm.
Anyway we visited a while and then Rene announced that we were going to go the beach and hang out there a bit. Susan his sister works part-time at the Yacht Club and told Rene that her hubby Dick and Reneès brother Raymond were sailing. So off we went to the beach. Met Sue and Dick at
sunsetsunsetsunset

Sailboat in the sunset
the beach and Sue announced that I was going out on the sail boat and could be part of the crew for the night. Well----- I just about fainted. One of my long time dreams and an item on my bucket list is to learn to sail. Again being from Alberta, not allot of opportunity to sail and sailing not being the highest priority. It turned out that when Susan called to chat with Rene and told him that the boys were racing in the sail boats that night, Rene asked Susan if there was anyway I could be on the boat. She then made some phone calls and thanks to her and Dick I got to be part of a incredible sailing experience. Susan said I cried when I realized it was true. I'm not sure if I was crying, maybe my eyes were leaking just a bit. Anyway WOW.WOW! WOW! I don't really know what else to say. Sue and Dick say thanks to Peter (the owner/captain of the sail boat)for me!
Home to the parents for the night. Rene and I walked home from the marina. Well, Rene walked and I floated on my sailing cloud 9.
SailingSailingSailing

The skipper, Pete and his trusty assistant, Dick


August 19, 2010. Spent some time in the library working on the blog and walking through town. Dad and Mom Hoekstra took Rene and I for a ride in the country side towards a wonderful Dutch store in Orono to buy Dutch candies and other yummy Dutch treats. Such beautiful country side here in Southern Ontario. 100 year old brick homes, lovely rolling hills and seemingly perfect fields of corn. Came home and met with another of Rene's sisters Jenny and her partner Scott at a little pub for wings and beer. No it's not Friday, it's Thursday and Thursday is Jen's beer and wing night here. Oh the sacrifices we have to make!!!! Got to the little pub and met 2 of Rene's nephews and their partners. Chris and Jenn and Keith and Jodi. We didn't know they were going to be there and they didn't know we were going to be there so it was a nice surprise for all of us. Chris and Jen are having a baby on real soon and Jodi and Keith are getting married in October, so lots of fun things to talk about. Jenny, thanks for the treat.

August 20,
Jen, Scott and MattJen, Scott and MattJen, Scott and Matt

Rene's sister and family
2010. Out for breakfast with Mom and Dad Hoekstra. Rene called around yesterday looking for another back tire, as it's time again for a change. We have put on many kms since our last tire change in Fairbanks Alaska. Can't imagine it would be much fun to blow a tire while on the road. Anyway, after several calls, Rene finally found a shop that could order a tire in and would be able to do the work. Rene left for Peterbourgh and I visited with the parents and worked on my blog. Went to Dick and Sue for supper. Had a wonderful supper with Dick and Sue. Settled in for a evening of catching up with each other's lives, when sister Marg and Paul roared up the driveway, home from Alberta. So---- the 6 of us had a nice visit and caught up.

August 21, 2010. Today is the day of the big HOEKSTRA family reunion. This reunion is just the immediate family of Mom and Dad Hoekstra, their 8 children, lots and lots of grandchildren and now 11 great-grandchildren. Of course not everyone is always attending. This is the first one that Rene and I are at and
Cookie FaceCookie FaceCookie Face

Silly games
unfortunately our children have never had the opportunity to attend. We have all been at other family functions, but not the reunions. Anway we had a great FULL day of visiting, eating, playing games, sitting around the campfire, singing and dancing, and eating some more. Finally fell into bed happy, content and absolutely exhausted. What a great big wonderful family.

August 22, 2010 we woke up and attended church with Mom and Dad Hoekstra. They love it when we go to church with them. Important stuff for them and us too. Rene was raised in this community so he knows so many people and loves to visit with them. After church we went back to Dick and Sue's to find out that Jen and Chris were on their way to the hospital to have the newest member of the Hoekstra clan. Welcome Harmony, to this crazy big, loving family. Spent the rest of the day with Mom and Dad Hoekstra, went for a huge walk with brother Ray and to bed early, because we are back on the road again tomorrow, heading towards the Maritimes.
How blessed Rene and I are to have such wonderful, fun, supportive family and
Hanky PankyHanky PankyHanky Panky

Another silly game
friends both here in Ontario and back home in Albrta. It's hard sometimes to stay connected to each other because our families live so far apart. But it seems that once we spend time again together the dis-tance and the dis-connect simply melt away. Thanks so much Ontario family and friends for everything. I hope you know how much each of you mean to us and how much we treasure you.

O.K ------- enough of that sappy stuff. Talk to you again while we're on our way to the East Coast.

And so we remain
In the Grip of Grace
Rene and Crystal



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

cotton ball gamecotton ball game
cotton ball game

Yet more silly games
Mom and Dad HoekstraMom and Dad Hoekstra
Mom and Dad Hoekstra

Even the parents are in on the games
Fire timeFire time
Fire time

Hanging out by the fire
Hoekstra'sHoekstra's
Hoekstra's

Rene and his parents


29th August 2010

YAY!
Thanks for taking the time to visit with us Crystal and Rene. I wish we could have had more time. I'm so glad you got to go sailing Crystal. It is an awesome experience isn't it?
30th August 2010

gizzards
Well unlucky for you, I might have to make a gizzard pizza for survivor night and you won't be there to share. It ain't gonna be the same without you guys. Miss you both. Steve, xx.
1st September 2010

I LOVE reading your blogs. I am so happy that you are having such a great time!!! I love visiting Ontario and actually just got back last night. (I went to the interment of my Grandmother's ashes at the cemetery) I was there for some crazy, hot, humid weather (40* with humidity). Was tempted to sweat but nothing...well actually, my forehead got sticky-WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME??? Small town Ontario is gorgeous and I love looking at the houses in London. Becky and I are flying with the baby on the 17th to Ontario to show her off after Mark and I get back from Fairmont. Hopefully you will get to experience the warm, late summers that often occur in the east...I love this time of year down there. And of course, the GORGEOUS fall colours!!! Drive carefully my friends, Love and Prayers Always, Tracy I'll take B and B over G(izzards) and B anytime! Hugs
6th September 2010

So near and yet so far!!
Wow, London - yes it is a very nice city and only 1 little hour from my home town of Port Dover!! Too bad you didn't have a chance to stop by for some Lake Erie Perch and a wander about. It is a neat little town - to visit!! Well Crystal, Tues will be the first Sept 7 with no date for lunch with you in a few years. I will miss you - but hey - you could be having gizzards and sure would not want to miss that!! Okay, I WOULD want to miss that but more power to you!! Stay safe and I will keep checking for a new blog.

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb