Letters from Nigeria - Orientation in London, Ontario, Thursday 1972 August 3 - 6


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » London
August 3rd 1972
Published: April 17th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Diary

19720803

This was the last day for our “groups” so we had to evaluate. Mostly we just sat around and talked about ridiculous things we had said or done. Evan tried to get a political discussion going, and as soon as he did, he retired to discuss music or something

The afternoon was supposed to be spent in the resource centre but everyone is getting tired of the heavy schedule of study. I went for a while and saw several good films, but most I played volley ball.

19720804

We had “professional” groups today for the first time. These are designed to help those of us who are inexperienced to learn how to teach and also to help everyone adjust to teaching in West Africa. For instance, French teachers must be aware of all the new words they have to learn, because, if a student asks for the French name of something African, we must still answer.

This afternoon I went downtown. But all I bought were envelopes and motion-sickness pills!

19720805

Today we got our gamma globulin shots (against infectious hepatitis) in the most traditional spot for shots – the rear end. They don’t stick it straight in anymore, but rather point it towards the thigh.

I went bike riding today for the first time this year. You can rent them for 50 cents per hour here, and the district is very pretty. Also the U of Western Ontario is interesting because the architecture is all the same.

Nigerian films tonight from the High Commission.

19720806

We have our final party tonight. I can already hear the band playing highlife but it is too early really to go (8:30). I hope it is much better than the last few unscheduled parties which never really got past 3 couples periodically dancing.

We packed today. Luckily I had sent off some books from Brantford, and I am wearing my heaviest clothes so I have just 65 pounds. Some people here are far underweight which I don’t understand.

I wrote letters all day today so everyone could know I was finally going.



To a Friend

August 3/72

I always have this awful compulsion to answer your letters right away, just as if we were talking (which was nice, by the way).

First of all, DON’T write cheery letters if you don’t feel cheery. The thing I really miss at this orientation is something that has not been artificially created or stimulated. This whole trip is becoming more and more unreal the more I am being oriented, and your being there to connect me with my own life in Montreal helps me stay on the ground where I want to be. Besides that, it is so nice to be in contact with someone who understands without being told. We keep expressing our feelings orally, but nobody unconsciously sympathizes. Please be selfish. I am so tired of everyone being so considerate that I can’t relax once in a while and be selfish too.

***

Leaving time is coming very soon.

After playing games all week, we started getting some teaching methodology information today. When we get to Aiyetoro, we will be getting some more, and we will start practice teaching on some kids who gave up their holidays for us! From there we go to Zaria to learn Hausa. (Have I told you all this before? I am so confused.) From there a representative from our school comes to take us to Yola. From what I can tell, we will be going about 1400 miles in the next month inside Nigeria alone!

***

All these little stars mean that I am trying to finish this letter again. It has nothing to do with not wanting to write to you (my one claim to sanity), but I think I am going into lock-brain. Nothing but conditional responses work; I have forgotten how to spell, how to carry a conversation beyond How Are You, and how to do one logical thing after another. We still have 2 ½ more days before Monday afternoon when we go to Toronto to catch our 7 PM flight. By that time I should be in a complete state of shell shock.

We are going to get our medical orientation in about 5 minutes which should about do me for today. All I need is a nice discussion about boil all your water, take your anti-diarrhea pills, and don’t breathe the air except under stressful conditions.

***

Here we go again. We drank beer last night after the meeting & and played a ridiculous new card game until 2:30 AM, all of which seems to have helped my brain problem.

I am going to stop this letter now & start over again on Tuesday or Wednesday when I get there.

Advertisement



17th April 2024

Wow again. The in-the-moment nature of this is vivid. Who was it that said we're all like ducks, seemingly serene on the top of the water while paddling madly underneath it?
20th April 2024

Not sure I was that calm on the surface, but perhaps I was.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb