November! Hey! What happen to global warming?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Haliburton
November 29th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Minden, Ontario Minden, Ontario Minden, Ontario

One thing about a dog is that you get regular outdoor exercise no matter what the weather.

Haliburton County



The summer back home in Canada was to allow me time to do some paperwork.
Last year it was mild until January so I took my time but one day I woke up to snow.
This year November had weather of which any February would be proud.

Winter is great in Canada except for the driving. You even have to drive if you want to see Santa Clause.

Taking the dog for a walk is pleasant enough in good weather but when the walk entails drudging through snow it gets tiring. The dog doesn't seem to notice a difference. A walk is a walk!
I pretend to complain about the dog wanting attention but the dog is a major source of contentment.

It didn't take long to suffer repetitive stress disorder from scratching my butt all day,
I got things together and bought an air ticket to Bangkok from Toronto.

Flight to Bangkok



On the flight, I enjoy looking through the in-flight catalog. For example: What's more useful than 'walking shoes' or 'sport shoes' with springs in the heel to help you 'defy gravity'?
What kind of shoes do we really
Winter in CanadaWinter in CanadaWinter in Canada

Looks good doesn't it? It's sooo much better when you're viewing it with a little snow in your boots and minus 15 degree air in your lungs and blowing on your face.
use most often? Why 'driving shoes' of course. For $140 you can buy the perfect shoe for driving your car.

Or for the caring pet owner, an 8-day auto pet-feeder so you don't have to feel guilty while you're away and your doggy is alone for the week.

Or if you want to self-improve you can train yourself to stop snoring with a bracelet that detects snoring and sends an 'electric pulse' to jolt you awake if you do snore. Next catalog may offer a bedside defibrillator. I like things I didn't know I needed until I saw them.



On board the aircraft the people beside me were from a missionary church in Alaska and going to Papua New Guinea to help build a hospital.
Their phrase book / dictionary of the local language (Tok Pisin , pidgin English) included words like 'husat?' for 'who' and 'masta' for 'white man'.

While waiting in Tokyo my watch alarm went off indicating that it had been 24 hours since I had woke up (awakened?) to catch my flight from Toronto. Another hour wait then I'd board the 6 hour flight to Bangkok.

I'd never been to the new Suvarnabhumi Airport in Bangkok but it proved to have good transportation to the city even after midnight.

I noticed that the US security at San Francisco had broken open my duffle bag 'for my protection' as the leaflet inside said, and among other things had broken my chocolate bar in half to check for 'weapons of mass destruction' even though I was in transit and my bag was in the US for less than 2 hours while being forwarded on through to Tokyo.
USA Today reported that there is now a high-school course on Homeland Security being promoted in Maryland.

I checked into a cheap guest house late that night in the backpacker area of Bangkok.
The Central Hotel has managed to never change the ambience of the original Khao San Rd by doing such things as maintenance. Although I do prefer the Asian style toilets to the western toilets which are usually plugged by over abundant toilet paper.
One of the workers there kinda adopted a street cat. In exchange for food, the cat tolerates being dressed up in various costumes. See photos.

I planned to move the next day but
Thanks for the walkThanks for the walkThanks for the walk

Dog's know that if they look lovingly at you, you won't be able to resist any request.
just never got around to it.

Maybe tomorrow.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Road to MindenRoad to Minden
Road to Minden

Winter would be great if you never had to drive anywhere.
Minden Santa Clause ParadeMinden Santa Clause Parade
Minden Santa Clause Parade

Canoe adds a little Canadian flavour
Minden Santa Clause ParadeMinden Santa Clause Parade
Minden Santa Clause Parade

Santa Clause is EVERYWHERE!
2007: JD and Doug2007: JD and Doug
2007: JD and Doug

Doug, a long-time friend has a cottage nearby. Not everyone is here because they they have no place else to go.
Rocky MountainsRocky Mountains
Rocky Mountains

After a good wing de-icing (below 20,00 ft cloud vapour can freeze on wings), this is the last snow covered ground I want to see for awhile.
"For my protection" or paranoid security?"For my protection" or paranoid security?
"For my protection" or paranoid security?

This little note in my bag makes it alright to cut off my locks while it's out of my sight on transit to Asia.


Tot: 0.452s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb