Summertime and the Living Is Crazy . . .


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Dunnville
August 20th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It has been a hectic couple months since leaving the Liberty. I left yearning to just relax and enjoy being home. It's been good, but it certainly hasn't been restful.

Only a few days after getting back to Canada, I took off again, though I at least stayed within the borders. I was back on a bus, tour guiding. I spent one week in Quebec City, then another in Ottawa. Those tours seem so long ago now. It was hectic, it was tiring, but I loved it. I love being up at the front of the bus, leading the pack through the city streets, gathering them around me to tell stories. One day, while in Quebec City, I'd just finished leading the group in a re-enactment of the Battle of the Plains of Abraham. A student walked along beside me and she said, "I'm having so much fun! You know, Jeanette, I thought this trip was going to be fun, but I thought there was going to be lots of boring stuff too. But there isn't. It's all fun. And I think that's because of you." I thanked her and then just thought to myself, "Wow. I've still got it."

Amongst all the work that is a part of touring, I got to see friends from the company whom I hadn't seen in months, or even a year. And I made a point of having little moments to myself in the cities that I love: shopped in Simons (the best department store in Quebec), had late-night poutine, savoured maple butter on homemade bread out along the Beaupre Coast, stood behind the Parliament Buildings and looked down on the Ottawa River, strolled along the Dufferin Terrace.

During the days between tours, I stayed in Toronto with a kind and generous friend. Back to couch-surfing! Squeezed in dinners and lunches with various friends in the city. Wished I had time for more visits.

Then I rushed back home and was off to camp. My 14th summer at Centauri, I spent the entire summer as an arts program director. I taught dance, musical theatre, musical theatre dance, then theatre over the four sessions. I'm really proud of the work I did with the campers in my programs this year. I learned just how much I can push my students, how they like the challenge and what incredible work they can do. What was especially exciting for me though, was that I didn't just feel like a teacher, I felt like an artist again. I taught my campers skills and things about the arts, but I also created artistic work with them that I'm really proud of and excited about. I feel like I grew as a director and a choreographer. I remembered that I have talent and skills and knowledge and it feels so good and fulfilling to put that to use. And I need to figure out how to do that more.

And now? Surely I'm not updating my blog just to write about what I'm doing at home . . .

While I'd sworn that I'd get to the end of camp and just collapse, relax, you know, not work for more than a couple days between contracts, I'm about to take off again. This Saturday, I'll be signing onto another ship. This time, the Carnival Glory. I've been asked to fill in for 4 weeks to allow another director to get a proper vacation break. Six month contracts are major commitments, that I'm just not ready for having not yet relaxed from the last. But four weeks will be lovely. I'll work and when I'm not, I just want to enjoy time to myself - reading in the cabin, watching DVDs, going to the gym - the sort of simple things I haven't had time for. And of course, there will be great ports I'll be visiting where I'll swim, dive, lie on the beach and maybe find some adventures awaiting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

"Cell Block Tango""Cell Block Tango"
"Cell Block Tango"

From my musical theatre program performance
"He's The Wizard" - from The Wiz"He's The Wizard" - from The Wiz
"He's The Wizard" - from The Wiz

part of my musical theatre dance performance
My Theatre GroupMy Theatre Group
My Theatre Group

I taught environmental theatre and we performed our show in one of the dorm buildings in different bunks and beds. So we took our group photo all curled up in bed.
Camp GladiatorsCamp Gladiators
Camp Gladiators

The campers had to take us on in tug-of-war and another challenge where we threw water at them.
Playing "Jessica Real"Playing "Jessica Real"
Playing "Jessica Real"

We had a BBBFitz Reunion tour night (BBBFitz is the camp's own boy band). I played Jessica Real, the girlfriend of Justin Imaflake.
Long Story For This One.Long Story For This One.
Long Story For This One.

But I am a rabbit. And Daniel is a shark. And the shark is eating the rabbit. You know, just like in nature.
Playing Dora The ExplorerPlaying Dora The Explorer
Playing Dora The Explorer

It was a murder mystery involving children's characters.
Playing with My Favourite Three Year OldPlaying with My Favourite Three Year Old
Playing with My Favourite Three Year Old

I only left camp yesterday and already I miss "Aunt Nettah, shall we dance?"
Jordi and Gavin's WeddingJordi and Gavin's Wedding
Jordi and Gavin's Wedding

In the mist of everything else, my friends Jordi and Gavin got married. And I got to see and catch up with many friends there. And we had a bit of a reunion - this group of us here all travelled to England together as teenagers. This photo is by Aim 2 Please photography - their brilliant photographers.


20th August 2008

LOVE the pictures!
I'll have to steal them from you at some point. Will you be posting on Facebook? I quite enjoy them. Oh the shark. My Aunt will be so happy that we put it to good use. Good luck this next month Aunt Nettah! Be sure to send me your work e-mail (yes, I forget it already), as I'm sure I'll have TONS of questions for you in the next week or two! Happy Sailing!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb