Packing Conundrum


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Brampton
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am trying to organize and pack for my trip to Korea, and this is probably the most difficult part of the trip, in my opinion. Trying to figure out what to take with me! I always put aside too much to fit into my bag, and usually end up very frustrated and close to tears by the time I have to leave. I am NOT known for my early starts on stuff either.

The hardest part of this trip is not having been there before. From what everyone tells me, it is very different than North America or Europe, and the fact that I will be working for half the time that I'm there makes it even more difficult to decide what I need to take with me.

I have done most of my shopping for products to take (shampoo, soap, etc.) and most of my laundry is done, but I'm sure that there will be some last minute trips to the store the day before I go for those items that have slipped past my organization.

I have already purchased the teaching items to take with me, and some snacks to accompany me (I'm really worried I won't like the food!) and fortunately, these will be things I either leave behind or use up as I travel. (Helps make the bag lighter and ready for small souvenirs!)

Oh well. I need to go record some more music for my MP3 player and make sure that I have enough batteries for it. Nothing worse than running out of music!

Advertisement



23rd July 2006

lack of info makes decisions tough
Thanks, Michelle. The hardest part, of course, is the lack of knowledge thus far. I believe the school is air conditioned, but the outdoors is supposedly MUCH more hot and humid than TO. We're supposed to get Camp Korea t-shirts to wear, but who knows how often we wear them or what colour they are? The weather is quite rainy (or has been) and with that, hard to say how sticky it is. As for borrowing from other teachers, I have the feeling that I'm not quite the same size as many others.... In any case, I'm sure I'll figure something out. I'm guessing that if I pack enough clothes for 2 of the 4 weeks, I should be in the clear. I don't know how often I'll get to do laundry, and certainly for the two weeks I'm off backpacking, I won't WANT to be doing laundry! :)
23rd July 2006

Life in Korea
Sue, I don't think you need to worry too much about what to pack. You're going to a facility where there are many foreigners and chances are the Koreans would have services available to you including laundry or dry goods. It is highly unlikely, that they would expected foreigners to be totally self-sufficient while working there.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb