Ottawa and St. John's


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Newfoundland & Labrador » St John's
September 18th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I sit here, with a giant pile of adorable long-hair, domestic mop of a Freya on my right lap, I'd like to recall some details my flight and arrival into St. John's, though there wasn't too much to report about it. The flight wasn't very long, though it was long enough to make good use of the individual screens on the back of each seats to watch a full length feature film. I chose "Night at the Museum 2" since I'd seen the first one and hadn't gotten around to watch the second for lack of interest, I suppose. It was cute, like the first one. Entertaining, but only really worth it if there's not much better to watch, or if you're hanging around a bunch of kids.

We landed in St. John's quite late and Nick's family was waiting for us. This was one of the most awkward arrivals in an airport I've ever experienced because Nick insisted upon taking the escalator down, following a bunch of people who weren't walking down the stairs, rather they were just enjoying the ride down. I, being stubborn and impatient, refused to wait behind the people on the escalator and ran down the stairs, where Nick's family were waiting patiently and smiling. Nick was slowly coming down the escalator and I was left with a decision to make... do I wait for him a walk towards his family hand in hand OR as I've not met but a few times, or do I just dive in and go for the ol' "Trust me your son's right behind me, I just couldn't be bothered spending the extra 2 minutes with him on the escalator" bit?!

The clock was ticking...What to do, what to DO?!?

The suspense... was... overwhelming.

So I ran away in the opposite direction, screaming and waving my hands around like a crazy-person.

Or, I thought about it, at least.


I went in for a hug with the fam without him, but Nick joined and eventually, we collected our luggage and headed home down the windy streets of St. John's.

It was rather late, so the impact of the coloured houses was not at its' most powerful. This would come soon though, as soon as I went out in the day time. However, that night, we arrived chez Nick's and were served wine, beer and kindness. The entire family was introduced, including Hiro, Freya, (two adult kitties with great personalities), Juno and Zoey (gigantic, fluffy, tail-waggingly happy doggies.) I take a look around the house, and in every nook of this old but very modernly-renovated excellent St. John's home, pieces come together in helping me understand the man who's invited me to stay with his family over the course of this journey. I am given the grand tour of the house, and soon after I drift off to sleep, awaiting tomorrow's first GREAT adventure:

A trip to the DMV in Mount Pearl!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb