Another pleasant day in St. John's


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another nice day
Checking out some of the shops
Chillaxing day out.

Yet again sucked in by the morning TV! I have discovered that the talk show hosted by Ellen Degeneres is hilarious! She's one funny lady. Plus she had on Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton and they went on for a bit about Ellen's missing "happy face" chip. Apparently a potato chip that has a happy face on it.

Anyhoo, once I finally dragged myself away from the TV, my first mission was to head on over to the Post Office on the end of Water Street. Water Street has lots of great little shops to check out so I wandered in and out of some of these stores before being able to get my letters posted.

I can't believe how many artisans there are in St. John's. It's great to see and I love looking at hand crafted stuff. But I must add there's a lot of not so attractive handcrafted stuff out there too! I encountered a few interesting gift shops and clothing stores too. I was hoping to find a pair of long john's at one of the outdoor clothing places at a reasonable price but the cheapest pair I found were $80! Yikes! My legs aren't that cold! lol

I loved checking out this one clothing store called Twisted Sister because they had tons of these neat handbags to look at. I probably would have bought one if they weren't so darn expensive! So perhaps that is a good thing because I probably don't need another bag. lol My all time favourite stop was at the Travel Bug. I love looking at travel stuff. I ended up talking to some of the staff there for quite some time. The first sales lady that came up to me was so interested in my black sling backpack. Then somehow we started talking about my travels and they were all really interested in where I'd been, where was my favourite place, what are some things that I absolutely could not travel without and if there are any items that they should stock in their store that they don't have I should let them know. They had some pretty neat things in there but I didn't really need anything. It was just nice to look around.

By this time it was the middle of the afternoon when I realized that I had not had anything to eat since the muffin I had at breakfast. So I decided to head to the next decent looking eatery that I passed by. It ended up being the Extreme Pita and had myself a pita pizza. They have one of those, collect x number of stamps and you get a free pita. I'm only here for a couple more days so I don't think I'll be able to collect 9 more stamps unless I start eating here four times a day. LOL

After refueling I decided to head on back to the hostel to see if I could catch Oprah. Jay Leno was on and he helped to introduce some interesting and amazing kids that have been on the Tonight Show. It was a pretty entertaining show. I haven't seen Oprah in ages.

Anyhoo, I went out for dinner at the Duckworth Bistro that's just below our hostel with Marko and then we headed over to George Street to check out some of the action. We ended up having an early night around Midnight. We had a good laugh about the whole awkward night with whiny Carol the previous night. Not to sound too harsh but sometimes it is nice to just say good riddance! haha

Oh yeah, forgot that I also met a chef named Philip from NYC that I chatted up for a bit last night. He's in Newfoundland to buy two properties (well actually I think he has already bought them.) and is trying to get things all sorted and fixed up. He gave me a postcard/flyer/brochure with a website that will hopefully be up and running in the next couple of weeks. I'll have to remember to check it out when I'm home. The two properties face the water and from the pictures they look beautiful. Only thing is they are located about four hours from St. John's. We ended up talking for a couple of hours about what else but travelling. lol


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb