Saint John and Such


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » St John
October 12th 2010
Published: October 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Continuing on the checklist of people to see and things I wanted to do while I was home. This time the Volkswagen and I were on our way to southern New Brunswick to a place just outside of Saint John called Grand Bay to visit my great friend since childhood, Eric. Eric's birthday was in the near future so we had at least one excuse to do some celebrating.

Now Eric is one of my best childhood friends, as we grow up together, played sports together, got in trouble together and all the other things that occur on the road from boyhood to manhood. So when we get together we laugh, joke, wrestle and usually get rowdy and cause scenes. Now, Miranda (Eric's girlfriend) had made some reservations at a nice restaurant in the city. So the evening started with delicious curries, beer and laughter. Following the meal we had many drinks at a nearby watering hole til late. We did have a random encounter with a hilarious drunken, sexually frustrated old man, who was shouting and inquiring about where to find loose women for the night. This man cracked us up and may have been one of the funniest strange encounters I've had in a long time.

Saturday we took a road trip to the scenic town of St Andrews on the Bay Of Fundy near the border with Maine. It happens to be a place I've wanted to see but have never made the trip. So I was excited to see the friendly little town with the painted wooden shops, and the dock with a large tall ship anchored at its tip. The ship happened to be a famous ship from the Hollywood film “ Mutiny on the Bounty” from the 60's (which starred Marlon Brando). There was a little market selling crafts, paintings and food while people were dressed as pirates to celebrate the HMS Bounty's arrival. We had some pub food and enjoyed the atmosphere of the little town. Checked out a great little art and craft store and more importantly found an ice cream shop that sold cotton candy flavour ice cream (the things I forgot I missed). Turns out I also missed Ketchup flavoured chips, pork schnitzels from the Miramich Farmers Market, Boston Cream donuts from Tim Hortons, and Havarti cheese.

The days spent in the Saint John area were relaxed and consisted of morning coffee runs, afternoon drives, road hockey and watching sports on the television. Eric's boxer dog named Lexi kept things exciting as she was always looking to play. Eric wanted to show me some different areas around Saint John so each day we would take a drive. We crossed ferries (that are free) and into Kingston Peninsula, checked out view points atop of hills, toured the inner city and took some scenic routes. We enjoyed some good home cooking (thanks Miranda) and I even witnessed Eric washing dishes (never thought I would ever see the day).

A few days in the Saint John area with my lifelong best friend as my tour guide, host and drinking buddy. It's nice to see the southern part of the province I grew up in, and notice how it varies from the north. The coastline and peninsulas, the ferry crossings, the accents and even the lack of the French language are all reminders that this is not home even though it is less then a 3 hours drive from my hometown.

I can't begin to explain how great it is to sit and catch up with a best friend that has been through alot with me throughout the years. Someone that takes both an interest and is supportive with me and my top hat of crazy ideas. As the details that surround life change maybe friendship is one thing that doesn't have to. I don't really believe that but it's great when the line proves true.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb