Canada blog thing that is really late


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » National Parks » Banff
August 6th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok this is really late for anyone who expected a regular blog schedule, for those who didn't (people who have spent longer than 30 minutes in my company) this really hasn't come as much of a shock to anyone. I was repeating my previous blog types to get these up to date but instead as I'm running low on time and Internet activity this shall just become such a mash up of items and ideas from the past week.

First I would like to thank Banff as I am leaving it tomorrow, all the people at the Juniper and anyone who worked for parks Canada who I shall be seeing again in the future.

So where to start. The last week has included some very memorable moments, from black bears with young cubs to ice fields going via 11 hour treks with 77 year olds and of course lets not forget introductions based solely on showing sun burn and exposing waists.

Last Friday we went to the ice fields and walked the I'm to lazy to walk upstairs to discover the actual name of the trail path. A very exhilarating trail with an amazing view of a glacier. Before venturing onto the columbine ice field to attempt to walk on the ice (we weren't allowed to because of restrictions thy had put in place). The entire day was very enjoyable and defiantly something everyone should do no matter whether they are a tourist or a volunteer. A big thank you to Ken as well for taking Mari and I up there as it takes at least 2 hours drive each way.

The weekend we worked with Heidi on the Camp sites over the long weekend (Canada's version of a bank holiday). We went round making sure no one had any questions or was blatantly breaking the rules. Thanks to Heidi for allowing me to spell her name wrong on this blog and Karen for helping out in answering all the campers questions. As it turned out my ability to answer peoples questions is in no way close to the level employees are at, but that's not to say the whole weekend wasn't very very enjoyable.

Monday we had our final one to one with Tina and finally went about the task of finding gifts for family, close friends and pushy acquaintances who implied that a gift was needed and thus meant social standing requires some small token (cough..Faith :-p)

Tuesday I rode the legacy trail again. Saw a Black bear and a cub from my bedroom window and had a delightful farewell dinner with Joanne, who managed to supply me with pizza that meant I survived the next day. Also I met with Dawn (god i hope that's how you spell that) who is a friendly individual who I am sure the new volunteers will get to know very well.(that sentence will probably be the biggest understatement I make during my time in Canada :-)

Wednesday a group of five of us (including me) scaled Aylmer pass (the one that's longer between the pass and lookout) It may have taken 11 hours and covered 26 km but we all made it! . And so much respect goes out to Ken who was able to complete the journey with us despite being 77. Thus proving all stereotypes about the older generations wrong in one fell swoop.

Thursday Mari and I helped out Rob collect data he is using for his thesis on forest fires and after the 78km I had travelled in the past 2 days I managed to not die which I, and I assume my family, are very happy about.

Then on Friday we finally took the gondola up to Sulphur mountain to see an amazing view and although I did bad mouth the gondola idea when I hiked up the mountain I do now appreciate how fantastic a ride the gondola is and how amazing it is for when you have tired legs. We then had a lunch where various people arrived and spoke to us which may well result in a future job but who knows before saying my goodbyes to Tina and that flag on the back of my bike (Jason knows why!) However rather than goodbye it was more see you later.

Then Saturday Mari and I enjoyed our final day in Banff and toured around various areas not yet seen before sorting out our life's for the week yet to come.

In-dispersed with all that were probably many things that I have forgotten for which i apologise however I have managed to write this whole thing in only 20 minutes and that I do believe is impressive considering the multiple hours the previous posts took.

Laters got to go cook,
Stay beautiful!

http://bit.ly/r0ILn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb