Cross Canada Adventure Day2


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba
April 23rd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Currently I am driving from Saskatchewan to New Brunswick with my sister. I was home for two days after my overseas travels which was just long enough to do laundry, sleep off the jet lag and sort out my taxes. Yesterday we drove from Kindersley to Winnipeg and it took about 12 hours. The Manitoba border is officially the furthest east in Canada that I have ever been. This is all new territory now.

Some people hate driving through Saskatchewan. I always hear the complaint that there is nothing to see. I think those people are driving with blinders on. There is lots to see in Saskatchewan! I love driving around there. Old farmsteads, wildlife, sunrises, sunsets, northern lights, in the summer the fields are in bloom, and in the winter the snow covers everything in a glittering white blanket. Its a beautiful province and I love it.

Winnipeg. Its an older city that hasn't had a lot of architectural development in recent years. Its run down, and feels like the small town bar that's a complete dive but you always have the best time at. The older houses, while looking their age, are so cute and I would love to have a home with so much character. The downtown doesn't have a lot of skyscrapers, but it does have some great historic buildings that give it a very homey feel. We didn't explore too much as we wanted to get on the road to Ontario, but I think I like Winnipeg. Its worth further exploration!

This morning we left Winnipeg and crossed into Ontario. We drove all day and made it as far as Thunder Bay where we have decided to stay the night. We didn't have a map or any idea of the layout of the city so we just drove around until we found a hotel that had vacancy (three tries on that one!). This is also an older feeling town with neat buildings and not a lot of shining superstructures dominating the skyline. I feel very much like I do in Medicine Hat. They have similar vibes...except that Thunder Bay is on a lake and has some very stunning views from its higher streets. We don't get to linger here though as my sister is on a timeline of sorts to get to New Brunswick and I have already been pestering her to take a detour into Toronto and down to Niagara falls. She isn't keen on the idea. I think she would really like to avoid Toronto altogether.

Tomorrow we push on to Sault Sainte Marie. Not sure if I spelled that right... and possibly on to Sudbury if we are still in the mood to drive. Its another long day of driving through trees, trees and more trees. As a prairie girl, I'm not a super fan of trees. They block the view lol.

This trip I have a laptop along since we have a car and I don't have to pack so lightly, so I will take the opportunity to go back and update where I have been over the last two months...so much has happened in six weeks! Its hard to remember things already. Good thing I keep a journal.



PS..I didn't realize I hadn't posted this when I wrote it, its been sitting in my saved files! Better late than never!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb