Day 16 - London to Vancouver, Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » YVR
May 22nd 2010
Published: December 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This morning I got a cab to take me to Victoria Station. There was no way I was lugging all my stuff on the tube at 6 am in the morning. I was just in time to catch the next Gatwick Express train, and surprisingly, it was way nicer than the one I'd taken when I first arrived in London. Then I realized I was sitting in first class. Duhhhh. When I arrived at Gatwick I checked in and shopped for a bit, then made my way to the gate. It didn't seem like I waited that long. The plane was only about twenty percent full, it was amazing. I got four seats to myself. It was the best flight I have ever been on. An eight hour flight only felt like three hours. I even bought myself some duty free DKNY perfume. When I arrived in Vancouver I filled out my customs form. I was proud of myself for being completely honest when they asked how much I spent, which was around $450. Unfortunately, this makes me a suspect of foul play apparently, because I had to be intensely questioned by three different security guards and then taken to a special room where they scanned all my bags. I'm sorry I shopped a lot! I don't think $400 is that much for a two week vacation. I was so pissed off from it all and I didn’t want to have to bother with the skytrain and the public bus to the ferry, so I paid sixty bucks for a cab. The ferry was boring, and I was so tired, I just wanted to get home. I always am depressed when I get home from a great vacation. Usually I am missing the sun, and the beach, and the relaxation, but this time I was missing the people, and the bus, and the sights. I was dreading going back to work, but I knew if I was ever going to afford another Contiki tour, or to even go and visit some of the people from the tour, I’d need money! It felt weird to be back home, but it was nice to start telling everyone my stories. I had such an amazing time in Europe. I’ll have the memories forever!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb