TransCan - The Canadian Rockies


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Princeton
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Folks,
Sorry it's been a while, but somehow things always seem to conspire against me getting internet access. Anyway, I'm solo again. Chrostoph and Iris wanted to spend more time hiking around Waterton, I wanted to get to the coast, also Christoph had a cracked rim and was waiting for a replacement.
The Rockies have been incredible, beautiful scenery, long long climbs (20K to 25K) @ 6% to 8% grades, and mixed weather. Of course my 1st pass was the highest, Kootenay pass out of Creston, at 1774M. And naturally full on conditions; started to rain about 5K into the climb, hail for a bit and then lightening and thunder as the grade kicked up to 8% at about the 20K point. At the summit it was snow mixed with rain and wind. A very painful decent with frozen fingers! Since that climb I've been lucky with not much wind and only showers, so I get to enjoy the screaming downhills that also go on for 20K +. A couple more days of climbing and then I'll be in Hope and next stop Vancouver!!!!
Take care all, hope all is well!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.609s; Tpl: 0.061s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb