The Big White


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kelowna
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At the moment, I am sitting in the internet cafe at "The Big White" Ski Resort near Kelowna - about 6 hours drive from Vancouver. It is absolutely breathtaking here, it's sort of the stuff you see in Movies, Snow is everywhere, it's very magical !

My Aunt and Cousins brought me up here for the Spring Break, even they haven't been here before so it's new for all of us even though they've been skiing at other places heaps before.

Well, we got here yesterday arvie, tucked into our hotel room, not bad, pretty cosy. In fact it's too cosy, I'm stuck sharing a double bed with my Cousin Jason. Mate, it was a very noisy night. I was pretty much pushed off the bed, sleep yelled at, snored at, and even farted at. Mate, I was so close to just getting up and chucking some pillows and blankets in the bath tub and sleeping there ! Oh well, I made it through one night, 3 more to go ! I still love ya Jason ! Just don't fart on me again alright ! hahahaha !!

Tody I had a four hour lesson on Ski's. It was really bad and hard at first and I fell over a few times luckily unhurt. But this arvie I was going alright, alot better then this morning ! I'm going to head up to a Ski Slope after this to hit it and put into practice what I learnt today. Can't wait !

Since my last journal entry, I actually met up with my Mum's Friend's son Matt, who is on a working holiday too in Canada, he has been here quite a while. We met in Vancouver and went to a local bar (They actually filmed a scene from The Fab Four there in the bar) and we had a few beers and had a great yarn ! It was a great night, just ended up staying in a cheap motel around the corner.

Other then that, just been chilling out around Sechelt B.C. Oh, My Uncle who is a pilot and part of the Aero Club in Sechelt B.C took me up in a little plane for a look around, which was absolutely awesome. It is soooo much different then the big jumbos. I was a little scared but luckily we made it back on the runway in one piece. A little bit of turbulence occured during the landing. Got some great photos too !!

Anyway thats about it, just loving it here at The Big White, and there are alot of Aussie's working here too. I might even try to get a job at one of these Ski Slope's throughout the year. It would be so much fun !!

One last thing, In case you didn't know, I put on some photos in my Gallery for all of you to check out. There's some really great ones there i reckon.

Anyway, Have a great one and stay safe. I really miss all you guys back at home. I can't wait to catch up with all of you again !

Dave



Advertisement



15th March 2006

hi DAVE
Hey Dave mate your photos are awesome, they look like you've cut and pasted yourself onto them haha. im so jealous glad your having a great time take care x
16th March 2006

Hey!!
Hey mate absoultly love the pics they are great!! How did you end up go sking???? Well some new from home, the commonwealth games have started. Cowboys kicked the broncos arse 36-4, lots of rain and storms around, and generally normal!! Off to townsville to catch up with some mates this weekend!! Cant wait!! Wanted to catch andy but he is working!! Oh well next time!! Going to the footy on sat to cowboys verse Manly, keep you posted!! K mate take care travel safe and chatt soon!! Do you actually get these emails???
21st March 2006

WHAT
Mate its been a while since your last entry whats goin on?? HAHA jokes your probably too busy partying. We went and watched Cowboys beat someone haha Maddi was cheerleading for them out there on the big field with her poms too cute! catch ya soon x

Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb