Day 9: Hinton to Hinterland's Who's Who (part 1 of 2)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kamloops
July 3rd 2015
Published: July 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

West of Hinton, we drove into the Alberta potion of the Rockies (photos 1 and 2). I love Alberta, make no mistake. I have lived nine of my years there. I find these Alberta mountains to be the most beautiful of all the mountains that I have ever seen.

Shortly before crossing into BC, we saw this Elk (photo 3). If my hunting skills are anything like my photography, perhaps I should not get a licence this year! This marks the fourth large mammal on this trip (Moose in N. Ont, bear and two elk in AB).

The cat was very interested in something outside (photo 4). I suspect she found wildlife of particular interest to her (photo 5), but I have no proof to back up this claim.

After five hours, we finally made it to Kamloops for lunch. When I was a child, there was a series of NFB shorts called, "Hinterland's Who's Who". The only episode that I remember clearly involved many children having fun riding around on a miniature train in Kamloops. All my life, I have wanted to ride this train. We searched and searched, but could find no trace of the amusement park. Thus, another childhood dream left in smoking ruins. Kamloops is a semi-arid desert, completely devoid of novelty trains (photo 6).


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb