Day 4 - Vancouver to Hope


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
June 28th 2010
Published: June 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Othello TunnelsOthello TunnelsOthello Tunnels

Taken on the trail at the Othello Tunnels in Hope, BC>
WOW! After three amazing days in Vancouver Julia and I are now comfortably settled into the Quality Inn in Hope, BC. Full from our dinner at a diner called 'HOME'. It was pure comfort food. Julia chowed down on a hot turkey sandwich, a mug of hot chocolate topped with whipped cream and the largest homemade 'M&M' cookie I've ever seen. I enjoyed a homemade tomato soup filled with veggies and a hot mug of tea. My spinach salad was not to my liking and as is common in small towns and places that just 'get it'...the waitress did not charge me for my soup/salad combo. She simply said - 'you did not eat it and so I will not charge you for it.'

We left Vancouver at about 11 am this morning and took our time getting here. It rained quite hard along the way but we still managed to have some amazing views. After checking in to our hotel we decided that we would head over to Coquihalla Canyon and the Othello Tunnels. This 1.5 km hike took us through the most amazing tunnels that were built as a part of the Kettle Valley Railway. We were both
Julia Julia Julia

On the trail at the Othello Tunnels
awestruck at the power of mother nature and the determination of man to build such a marvel. Almost all of the work was done by hand making this the most expensive mile of railway track in the world! Interesting to note that some scenes in the movie 'Rambo - First Blood' were shot here. After our hike we then stopped at the Blue Moose Cafe where I enjoyed a latte and Julia had some water.

We have found SO many things to laugh at and have truly enjoyed the journey thus far. Julia is a great travel companion and a real adventurer. I've certainly been getting plenty of exercise and am grateful for her patience as I sometimes need to stop and catch my breath.

Our access to internet has been pretty much non-existent and so blog posts will be out of order. Now that this one has been written, I will add others from our first three days. Pictures and maps will be uploaded when we have better service.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb