The Official Entry


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Coquitlam
December 5th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To our collection of adored fans and relatives (because there is so many of you), I will keep this short and sweet:

In three more sleeps we will be on an airplane flying across a large body of water towards a relatively small island in the northern hemisphere - Britain (as you should know, because I haven't been able to stop blabbering about it). Alex has been all over the place, across oceans, over mountains (probably even under them), and far, farther south than I. I've never left the continent. Until August of this year, I had never left Canada. Unless you count once when I was 4, until this February, I had never left British Columbia. And frankly, that's boring.

In three more sleeps we will be off on an epic (and entirely awesome) journey to one of the coolest countries on earth. King Arthur lived, conquered and died in the soil that our hiking boots will tread on, giantic monuments were erected and their purpose forgotten, and there was once a time when Romans ran rampant, trying to civilize the clan-folks of the northern isles. The greatest poets, writers, and scientists of all time first sprouted in Britain, and two world wars have raged on the coast. But best of all (next to King Arthur), geology was practically invented here. Britain's got some nifty rocks.

Did I mention I've a tendency to be a bit melodramatic?

We will use this to keep in touch (because I imagine phone calls are really, really expensive - Mom, I will try to call on Christmas, and I apologize in advance if I call you early in the morning or late at night. I usually forget the timezone.)

This is a pretty nifty site. Underneath the Title for each entry (I think) will be a listing of what city we are in when we post an article. We can upload loads of photos and videos, too.

Another nifty function: I will be adding your email addresses (mom, mama, Syd, Joyce, and whoever else Alex requests) so that when we post a blog, you get an email letting you know. Either way, I will email the link out before we leave. I figure you'll want to know just how wet we are during the trip (vicariously living through us, right mom?) - and I'm sure Syd and Joyce are interested in how their son is doing, other than his usual "I'm okay" or - How's the trip - "Good."

Anyhow, I think that's it for now.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb