Final Day in Jasper


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper National Park
August 28th 2015
Published: September 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The plan had been to canoe Maligne Lake today, but (as fortune would have it) it was too windy and starting to look like rain. The hike from the day before had left me quite sore, and really not in the mood for a long paddle. We did, however, drive to the lake. David took a few photos, and we browsed the souvenir shop. The first thing I saw as I stepped in the shop were some coffee cups (the only coffee cup we had in the trailer had broken a few days earlier). I picked one up and it was perfect – I could just feel the warmth it would radiate when filled with a hot cup of coffee. And, there was a moose adorning it! – a perfect match for our moose wine glasses we got while in Yellowstone several years ago. I’ve never been one for collecting much of anything, but moose seem to call to me in some strange way. (Actually, moose really do have strange calls.)



We then went for a very short hike of Maligne Canyon (my knees were not happy). So off we went for a dip in the Miette Hot Springs. (Did I mention how much I love hot springs?) This natural hot springs is the hottest in the Canadian Rockies (54 C or 129 F) and is cooled to 40 C. I couldn’t think of a better thing to do on the last day of our trip – soaking up the mountain views in the scrumptiously warm waters.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



8th September 2015

This entry sounded quite scary, am glad you are both ok, and where is insurance when you really need it!!
8th September 2015

Life sends you curves, you learn to swerve!
We are both happy things turned out okay (well, the cameras were not so fortunate.) As for the insurance -- not sure what to think. We've paid for years -- made one other claim -- that was also denied. Perhaps, we should just use the money we put into insurance into lottery tickets and gambling -- might be better off?

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb