Canoe trip - Paddle to the end of the lake!


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

We drove to our launch location from Hinton. I got to spend a couple of hours reminiscing about my time there eons ago! There is still only one car wash. ;-) I was impressed that I was able to find the building where I rented an appartment. I know I stayed on the 3rd floor but I couldn't remember which unit.

It took a bit of coordination but eventually we got 14 people loaded into 2 voyager canoes with one regular canoe as cargo. Yes, when we go canoeing the regular backcountry weight restrictions go out the window! I do love canoeing because you get to see a remote location but still travel in style!

We paddled ~22km to the other end of the lake. We stopped at Spirit Island (famous on all Jasper photos). It took about 5 hours of paddling to get there. It's much faster going in the voyager canoes!

It rained on and off... Of course we only have pictures of when it wasn't raining!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Voyager canoes - they are large!Voyager canoes - they are large!
Voyager canoes - they are large!

You can seat 10 people in the canoe with no gear...
End of Maligne LakeEnd of Maligne Lake
End of Maligne Lake

We are getting ready to head off! It took a bit to get everything loaded.
Maligne LakeMaligne Lake
Maligne Lake

When you stay in the city too long, you forget how breathtaking the mountains are!
Maligne LakeMaligne Lake
Maligne Lake

Headed to the campground...
That would be Kwesi...That would be Kwesi...
That would be Kwesi...

Just in case you couldn't figure that out!
Moss and other small plantsMoss and other small plants
Moss and other small plants

I love the small plants, moss, lichens, you name it. I took lots of photos of small things! With all the rain, growth was amazing.
Fellow paddlers on our boat!Fellow paddlers on our boat!
Fellow paddlers on our boat!

Bernie is in the back making sure we go the right way.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb