The most expensive part of leaving is actually leaving


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
August 28th 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The LakeThe LakeThe Lake

Sunset at the lake
Well the count down is on I leave in less than a week pretty scary stuff. I will just try to summarize what I have been doing since I finished work on the 14th but I am bound to forget things.

Well once I finished work I went to Bonnyville to hang out with friends and family which was a blast. Went wakeboarding a lot and finally landed the elusive tantrum (backflip) and had one of the best runs I have ever had. Went to a killer bash put on by Denis and Nigel who made a sweat hut that worked awesome despite wide spread skepticism (by me included) although the pre party party was also very good with lots of drunken antics.

Then I went out to the lake and spent a couple days out there just relaxing (its nice to just sit around and do nothing but its hard when your so use to a go go go life style). Although me and my brother cant sit still for to long and both got hurt, I was wakeboarding and my foot came out of my binding half way through a jump and the board basically landed on
Canoe Trip 1Canoe Trip 1Canoe Trip 1

What a nice view
it and it is still all shades of black and blue (I thought my foot was dirty in the shower a couple days later and just kept scrubbing it and then realized no the whole foot is bruised hahaha oh well) then my brother brought out the pocket bike and took it for a rip and the chain came off and the back tire seized up and he went flying (he was probably doing 50k ) and tore up his elbow pretty good but luckily carol was there to take care of him and doctor him up as well as having the good pills.

After the lake I left back up to Edmonton to meet up with court and jill and drive to Vernon, we had a little convoy going me riding my bike and court in her car and jill in hers (between all three of us we still probably used less gas then a truck would have). It was a pretty fun drive up on my bike, got saved probably from a ticket by a fellow biker warning me of the cops ahead as we passed each other, but it was long and I got really fatigued
Canoe Trip 2Canoe Trip 2Canoe Trip 2

Evening dinner
when it started to rain after revelstoke because I was cold and wet but I would still do it again.

Now I am sitting in BC where we went on a 2 day canoe trip down shushwap (I cant spell) river, court's dad estimated it at 50km, which was really fun. We also when swimming at an outdoor pool with a diving board and wrestled with courts cousins her dad and uncle and all of us got in trouble from the life guard (honestly when is the last time you went to a pool so much fun) and had a picnic with a bunch of her family and on the way back we had a little street racing (it wasn't me but i might have encouraged it a little) Courts dad and her uncle had a little race light to light and a astro van can do a wicked burn out and the nissan can hold its own. Today we went on a motorcycle ride down the most amazing highway so many twisties so much fun a couple full lean corners, its highway 6 going between vernon and nakusp (we only went for about an hour on it but
Canoe Trip 3Canoe Trip 3Canoe Trip 3

What a cutie
will definitely have to do it again).

As for getting ready for my trip I went out and bought a whole lot of medications (150$ ouch) and got all my shots which cost a pretty penny also, I have my plane tickets and a hotel booked for the first 4 days and a route planned out how to get from bangkok to cambodia so I have at least the first week figured out pretty much but after that who knows. I also have a pile started with all the stuff im taking so I think im ready to go pretty much but im still waiting for the eventual freak out im going to have and Court is doing really well she hasn't cried once yet but im sure she will at the airport.

Later days

Trev



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MotorcyclingMotorcycling
Motorcycling

Going about 100k


29th August 2006

That bike looks funny when two wheels are on the ground

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb