Hockey Nation even in July


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
July 8th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I missed the trip to Elk Island to see deer, bison, etc because I thought I wouldn;t get back in time to make my flight (little did I know!). I was also a bit bummed to miss hockey season in Canada, thinking no one cares about hockey when it's 85 degrees and sunny until 11 pm. Then I found out about Oilers Prospect Camp. I made my way to a small local hockey rink in Clareview to watch 2 hours of the Edmonton Oilers hockey prospects camp. Some are 18 year old kids drafted out of high school, college kids from the US, or older junior league players from Canada. The hot prospects are Eberle, Taylor Hall (who looks like he belongs in the Twight movies), and Magnus from Sweeden. And man was Magnus good. He could skate fast, stop quick, and should definitly make the team. Then there was the guy from the U of NH in the US. He was horrible. But the idea of the camp is to take potential players and make them better.

It was so crowded in the arena. Everyone was several rows deep surrounding the boards and glass wall. I stayed near the goal and eventually made it up to the glass. I jumped a few times when the guys crashed into the wall or a puck flew into the net. It was so much fun to be there and see turn out- even in July. Hockey Nation did not fail me and I'm glad to go home with some good memories of the trek up North- even if I did end up staying an extra night. I'll post some pictures soon.

Holly

Advertisement



14th July 2010

Good for you
Interesting trip. Presume you did eventually make it home. We were gone when these came in but read them ASAP upon our return. We were in GA, and NC and SC. Went to home of author of Gone with the Wind. Also to High Museum of Art in Atlanta. Friend of Bill's did a concert in their hometown in n. Georgia. Bill got a shout-out from the stage for coming so far to attend. We donated money to the Cherokees left in NC through their Harrah's outlet and met my cuz for lunch in Greenville SC which is a delightful city. No hockey or baseball but did eat at the Varsity Drive-In in Atlanta. Love to you and Chuck.

Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb